cpu usage - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-09-2005, 05:48 PM   #21 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 80
Send a message via AIM to crayon
Default

nope even when limewire isnt connected and running i still have this problem. . ~sighs~ dam this computer problem . . lol ..
__________________

__________________
http://www.eraserinc.com/ims/pic.php?u=18Ck62I&i=76
created by mac_mogul
crayon is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 09:53 PM   #22 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

okay, I put this in the other thread but will put it here, too. If you are looking at the 'system idle process' in the processes section and the CPU is around 90 - 100%, thats NORMAL. If you are in performance and the CPU usage shows that high constantly, then there is a problem. The system idle process CPU time is basically telling you how much is available. The higher the better (a little more involved than that, but thats the gist of it).
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 09:55 PM   #23 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Post your processes..
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 10:29 PM   #24 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 80
Send a message via AIM to crayon
Default

program mem usage
system idle processes 16k
realsched 212k
system 220k
smss 384k
winlogon 1040k
Lsass 1480k
wbload 1652k
IAANTmon 1920k
MsPMSPSv 2156k
wdfmgr 2368k
ati2evxx 2468k
wanmpsvc 2880k
jusched 3916k
alg 3984k
svchost 4232k
svchost 4680k
svchost 4688k
csrss 4692k
svchost 4916k
svchost 4932k
spoolsv 5428k
taskmgr 5736k
aim 6152k
tskmgr 6960k
stopzilla 9332k
SZNTSvc 9692k
realplay 9756k
svchost 21180k
firefox 24488k
explorer 36340k
swdoctor 38408k
limewire 63720k
__________________
http://www.eraserinc.com/ims/pic.php?u=18Ck62I&i=76
created by mac_mogul
crayon is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 10:34 PM   #25 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

You don't show how much of the CPU it uses.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 10:40 PM   #26 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

ugh, no wonder why limewire eats so much. get rid of it, its a java based client. use something like edonkey.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 12:14 AM   #27 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 80
Send a message via AIM to crayon
Default

lol thats when the comp is runnin at like 2-10% cpu usage
and if i up ne typew of game BAM!! 100% argh!! slow comp and reboot time. . ~sighs~ will this problem ever end
__________________
http://www.eraserinc.com/ims/pic.php?u=18Ck62I&i=76
created by mac_mogul
crayon is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 02:49 AM   #28 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I think that is normal actually.

I ran FS 2002, which required a 300ish CPU and that required 100% CPU performance, from my AMD 64 3000.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 02:59 AM   #29 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 80
Send a message via AIM to crayon
Default

dam lol . .its not like this problem is damaging so i guess ill go on with computing . . but it really buggs me cuz all i can do is single player gaming . . anything online is to lagged out and its not worth trying and or ill b booted for having a slow connection or somthing ~i run cable so thats not really the case~ . . lol i h8t this problem it confuses me so . . ima go talk to the tech guy larry he's our local comp fixer . . and i guess ill trobble shoot around with him . .tyvm 4 all the help guys . . nething eles still would b of hlp so post as u will . .ttyl
__________________
http://www.eraserinc.com/ims/pic.php?u=18Ck62I&i=76
created by mac_mogul
crayon is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 12:49 PM   #30 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 94
Default

Two possibilities:

Most games require extensive hardware support. Getting your main CPU to do all the work will cause it to jump it to 100% usage easily. So check out your video card, etc.. If they should be able to handle it check that the drivers they use are good. If they aren't they will seriously underutilize the hardware.

How much RAM do you have. If you don't have much (minimum 380 MB for games) the computer will spend most of its time paging, which means the CPU is spending more time paging then doing useful work. You can check the page file usage in the task manager. For good performance it should'nt be higher than ~125 MB.
__________________

ever_thus is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.