CPU running at 100% - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-13-2004, 01:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 120
Question CPU running at 100%

It came time for a reinstall on my XP box so I fired it up and was about to start copying some stuff to my backup drive before reinstalling windows. Once windows loaded my guage was reading a solid 100% CPU activity and refused to slow down (this has never happened before). It let me slowly move folders around on the desktop but would not let me open any folders. It took about 2 minutes just for the taskmanager to come up. Once it did it showed explorer.exe at 99% of the CPU. Not wanting to fight with it or burn up my CPU from overheating I just decided to skip backup and just reinstall. To nobodies surprise the reinstall went great and now it runs just fine.

Any ideas as to what this could have been?
__________________

RyansTech is offline  
Old 10-13-2004, 02:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 420
Send a message via AIM to silence782
Default

Probably just a runaway system process. It happens every now and again...
__________________

__________________
Still weak, I know, but getting better:
CPU: AMD AthlonXP 2500+
1.8GHz @ 333 FSB
512 DDR 2700
160 GB westerndigital hd
Dual booted with XP/Fedora Core 5
PCchips M848A mobo
nVIDIA GeForce MX 4000 video Card
Associate\'s Degree in Applied Computer Sciences.
A+ Certified for Hardware and Operating Systems. Network+ Certified
silence782 is offline  
Old 10-13-2004, 10:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 144
Default

I hate it when that happens. That occurs so much on my moms comp because she has too much spyware on it.
__________________
R.Y.N.O. (Rip Ya a New One)
Diabolic Minotaur ATX Case
Asus A8V Deluxe MoBo Wifi Edition
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ CPU
2x Corsair 512MB PC3200 DIMM\'s
2x Western Digital 120GB Serial ATA Harddrives in RAID 0
Asus 16x DVD-rom Drive
Pioneer 16x DVD+rw/-rw DL Drive
eVGA Geforce 6800 GT
Aspire 500w PSU
Circa219 is offline  
Old 10-13-2004, 11:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 120
Default

I didn't really have any spyware on there it was really random. just wanted to know if anyone else that has had this problem and knew what it was.
RyansTech is offline  
Old 10-14-2004, 06:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

only way to really know is to find the run away process and then you can bisect that down to what it is doing...
Since you have rebuilt, there is not anyway to check...

Circa219

There is a program available from sysinternals called process XP that is very usefull in finding out what is going on. You can look at the individual threads of a process and isolate the issue a that level. You might want to look at that as an option...
Inaris is offline  
Old 10-14-2004, 09:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Inaris
only way to really know is to find the run away process and then you can bisect that down to what it is doing...
Since you have rebuilt, there is not anyway to check...

Circa219

There is a program available from sysinternals called process XP that is very usefull in finding out what is going on. You can look at the individual threads of a process and isolate the issue a that level. You might want to look at that as an option...
Well there were 2 explorer.exe processes running at full throttle. That seemed weird to me. Thanks for the suggestions.
RyansTech is offline  
Old 10-15-2004, 01:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

that is where Processxp comes into play. It will show you the location of the proccess and allow you to find the problem.

This is a trend I have noticed in the last year or two. Everytime a problem occurs, people rebuild. I have not rebuilt in several years now and my systems are still as stable as when I built them. I have had many problems, but I have always just fixed it and kept the system running. it always makes me worry cause when people repair their problem, they can pass on the knowledge, whereas if they haven't they have nothing to share. It's very sad...

Not that I'm ragging on you guys, I'm just saying it's a bad habit to get in, and sharing my thoughts...

Good Luck
Inaris is offline  
Old 10-16-2004, 03:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 120
Default

I hear ya Inaris. I don't get along with my PC all that well. We are in a love hate relationship. I like my mac
__________________

RyansTech is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.