CPU OPERATING AT 100 C! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2010, 10:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 14
Exclamation CPU OPERATING AT 100 C!

For the last couple of months, my deskptop computer has been having a lot of problems which I've discovered the reason why the problems have been occuring...well at least I hope.

Firstly, my computer started to turn itself off automatically followed by an overhearting error screen upon restarting the the computer. All I did as give the computer an hour or so to cool down. I also cleaned the inside of the computer. This was in mid 2009.

A few months later, late 2009, my power supply went down and had to be replaced. I'm wondering if this was caused by the overheating.

Between now and then, I've been getting the odd overheating errors. However, my monitor has been randomly losing signal whilst the computer is still on. Sometimes when starting up the computer, the monitor will not show any signal meaning I have to hold the power button to be able to restart the computer.

Now recently I've learnt how to look at the temperature of the CPU and MB and discovered that the CPU was running at 100 c in the BIOS.

What do I do to stop my computer running at such high tempatures? When I hover my hand over the driver, it's cool. I'm no expert on computer hardware.
__________________

__________________
AshleyWellington is offline  
Old 04-17-2010, 11:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: CPU OPERATING AT 100 C!

Is the cpu's fan spinning?
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 04-17-2010, 11:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 14
Default Re: CPU OPERATING AT 100 C!

CPU fan? I'm guessing their are specific fans for different parts of the driver. Judging by the noise the driver is making and the air coming out of the holes...I believe the fans are working.
__________________
AshleyWellington is offline  
Old 04-17-2010, 12:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: CPU OPERATING AT 100 C!

There are lots of fans, you need to open the side up and look to see if the fan on top of the cpu is spinning.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 04-17-2010, 12:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: CPU OPERATING AT 100 C!

Take the side panel off of the PC so you can see the working components. Turn the PC on and look and see if the cpu fan is spinning.

Using the picture below as a reference, I've circled the cpu's fan (and heatsink) in red. Your fan and heatsink may look different but it should be simular and located in the same place.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 09:11 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 14
Default Re: CPU OPERATING AT 100 C!

The fan is working as far as I can see. However, the graphics/video card is very hot...especially when the computer was only switched on for less than a minute. I felt the other areas of the computer and as far as I could tell the temperatures were cool.

What do I need to do next?
__________________
AshleyWellington is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 11:30 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: CPU OPERATING AT 100 C!

Download Hardware Monitor, install it, run it and post a screenshot of it so we can see what's happening.
HWMonitor
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 04:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 14
Default Re: CPU OPERATING AT 100 C!

As you can see, the CPU and AUX temperatures are extremely high.



Is this the reason why my monitor also keeps losing signal whilst attempting to start off the computer? And randomly loses signal when playing games?
__________________
AshleyWellington is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 05:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: CPU OPERATING AT 100 C!

Yes, I'm positive your temperatures are causing your problems. Is the inside of your PC clean, or is it full of dust? Clean it out with compressed air, vacumn cleaners are very bad.

You probably need to replace the thermal paste on your cpu heatsink and the video card.

Exactly what kind of a PC is this? Can you list the spec's or if it's a Brand name PC (HP,Dell,etc...) can you list the model#.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 05:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 14
Default Re: CPU OPERATING AT 100 C!

I've already used compressed air to clean the inside of the computer.

What is thermap paste and what is it used for. And how do you apply it?

The model is Packard Bell.
__________________

__________________
AshleyWellington is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU Cooler question...... LFCJohnSmith Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 01-13-2010 02:46 PM
What's the best CPU I can get............ hesson81 System Upgrades 15 02-12-2009 07:44 PM
Which CPU cooler would be most benefical? grkbar New Systems | Building and Buying 5 09-28-2008 09:22 AM
CPU help. Can some one explain them? White_Wolf System Upgrades 8 07-25-2008 07:49 AM
What is a 1:1 overclock? aetherh4cker Overclocking and Modding 22 01-17-2008 03:02 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.