Could you realistically Multiboot from dos-vista - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2007, 01:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 195
Default Could you realistically Multiboot from dos-vista

I wanted to challenge all the computer geeks here if you could make a multi boot system from dos to vista and have them all work right?
__________________

lafguy81 is offline  
Old 09-02-2007, 06:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Could you realistically Multiboot from dos-vista

No you couldnt.

The reason is this. The system now-a-days are too powerful to naturally boot DOS,Windows95 and some even Windows98. Let alone no driver support for 95-ME on some machines.

So there would be no way uinless you did it with VMWare which isnt truly natural booting.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-02-2007, 06:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Graphic Designer
 
mssssee2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Thessaloniki, Greece
Posts: 506
Send a message via MSN to mssssee2 Send a message via Yahoo to mssssee2
Default Re: Could you realistically Multiboot from dos-vista

Yes there'is, not actually dualbooting, but virtual pc 2007. You select to occupy 64mbyte ram and a quite small size of ViRtual HDD.
__________________
Mike from Greece, 16

mssssee2 is offline  
Old 09-02-2007, 08:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Could you realistically Multiboot from dos-vista

Read the title. He doesnt ask about using Virtual machines. He asks if you can multiboot. Which you can not. Virtual MAchines do not count as i already stated. So VMWare and Virtual PC doesnt matter. For a natural boot you CAN NOT do it. DOS cant handle the amount of RAM installed today. Neither can Windows 95.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 11:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Graphic Designer
 
mssssee2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Thessaloniki, Greece
Posts: 506
Send a message via MSN to mssssee2 Send a message via Yahoo to mssssee2
Default Re: Could you realistically Multiboot from dos-vista

Yes I know that he asked for dual booting, but I said an alternative way if he really needs it.
__________________
Mike from Greece, 16

mssssee2 is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 12:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: Could you realistically Multiboot from dos-vista

Boot Manager - multiboot of multiple operating systems


Look down the bottom of the page, DOS is listed so this site tells me it is possible to create what you want....
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 12:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Could you realistically Multiboot from dos-vista

It wont work. Windows 95 and Windows 98 can not recognize anything as high as 1GB of RAM. Let alone it doesnt recognize anything larger than 32GB in HDD space.

I am still trying to find the maximum system requirements. But so far no luck. Acronis may allow for multiboot that includes DOS. Doesnt mean today's systems can actually naturally boot DOS up. But if memory serves my correct Windows 95 could only recognize upto 512MB RAM. That was around the max at that time. Considering 32MB was minimal and 64 was Recommended.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 11:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Could you realistically Multiboot from dos-vista

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
It wont work. Windows 95 and Windows 98 can not recognize anything as high as 1GB of RAM. Let alone it doesnt recognize anything larger than 32GB in HDD space.

I am still trying to find the maximum system requirements. But so far no luck. Acronis may allow for multiboot that includes DOS. Doesnt mean today's systems can actually naturally boot DOS up. But if memory serves my correct Windows 95 could only recognize upto 512MB RAM. That was around the max at that time. Considering 32MB was minimal and 64 was Recommended.
and there is no driver support. I tried windows me on a new machine. it barely works. there are almost no drivers at all
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 07:31 AM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Could you realistically Multiboot from dos-vista

I wasnt even gonna go to the driver arguement. Cause there would be no way to set up a sound card in Windows 3.1 or Windows 95. Considering most of those OS's you had to set up the sound and GFX cards yourself qith the IRQ and all that. So yeah driver support is null let alone the system limitations.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another Vista Service Pack 1 build leaks out Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 10 08-30-2007 07:53 PM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Vista Transformation Pack 7.0 Released Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 11 06-27-2007 10:48 PM
Linux and Vista dual-boot Mike9182 Linux and Open Source 1 06-26-2007 07:53 PM
Vista Upgrade? Saynt25 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-18-2007 04:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.