could not install xp sp2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-28-2006, 09:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 123
Default could not install xp sp2

i downloaded the sp2 in microsoft
while im installing the software, it was looking for the tcptest.exe?
__________________

regiemon is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 10:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

http://www.softwarepatch.com/windows/xpsp2.html


Try there

is there an error message?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 10:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 123
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
http://www.softwarepatch.com/windows/xpsp2.html


Try there

is there an error message?
it was just looking for that file. and i dont know where could i get it.
regiemon is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 10:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I tried both downloading through windows update, and a standalone installer.

Anyway after digging through the site more I found a trick to fool the installer. Haven't yet figured out the actual problem which is causing windows to hide "????test.exe" files, but I found a way to get SP2 installed. I simply renamed the file to tcptest.ex_ and it made the installer happy!
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 10:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 123
Default

thanks.i will try it.
__________________
nomeiger.com, imactech.com, phpsifu.com
regiemon is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 10:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

ive visited several sites, and this is the most common fix, but some still didnt get it to work
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.