Could I do this for Vista - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-27-2007, 10:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Mr Beans Sidekick
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 563
Send a message via MSN to Max Power
Default Could I do this for Vista

Right now I have Windows Xp Home sp2. Could I simply buy a Vista Ultimate upgrade dvd and would it work? Or would I have to buy the normal one that 500 bucks.

http://www.futureshop.ca/catalog/pro...18&catid=10657
or
http://www.futureshop.ca/catalog/pro...13&catid=10657

And Could I run it on my PC?

Intel P4 3.00ghz
1GB Ram
Geforce 6200

Ill probly be building a new PC later on anyways
__________________

Max Power is offline  
Old 01-28-2007, 12:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

I dont know about that upgrade stuff.

But your computer can run it, hardly
I have 6800gs and 1gb and it runs aight....
but a 6200 is a little pushy.

Basically, with all visual settings enabled your windows will seem skippy when you move them around.
__________________

alexsabree is offline  
Old 01-28-2007, 12:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Mr Beans Sidekick
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 563
Send a message via MSN to Max Power
Default

So maybe I should wait till I build my new PC?
__________________
Max Power is offline  
Old 01-28-2007, 03:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
PeugeotEnthusiast
 
NayNay1991x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Leicester
Posts: 2,081
Send a message via MSN to NayNay1991x
Default

if your not sure download this:

Microsoft Windows Vista Upgrade advisor Beta:

http://www.microsoft.com/uk/windowsv...r/default.mspx

Tells you what package is suitable for you
NayNay1991x is offline  
Old 01-28-2007, 11:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

there is a final version of that upgrade adviser now, the beta didn't work for me.

also if i was to buy an upgrade version would it let me clean install if I had 2 reformat at some point or will i have to prove to it that I have xp to use the upgrade
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 01-28-2007, 11:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 45
Default

with upgrade you have to install xp first
i dont know if it has to be activated too or not, i imagine vista can tell if its legit or not.

hopefully vista wont require the reinstalls like xp did
__________________
d-c-y-p-h-u-r-e
dcyphure is offline  
Old 01-28-2007, 11:35 AM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Guess what. Vista REQUIRES a valid install of XP on your machine first before you can install. So for those who dont have a vlaid XP if you think you can try and jsut upgrade. You are SOL.

http://www.dailytech.com/article.aspx?newsid=5887
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-28-2007, 12:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Mr Beans Sidekick
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 563
Send a message via MSN to Max Power
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NvidiaDude
if your not sure download this:

Microsoft Windows Vista Upgrade advisor Beta:

http://www.microsoft.com/uk/windowsv...r/default.mspx

Tells you what package is suitable for you
Well I went through that and for ultimate the only hardware problem was that I didnt have a DVD-RW drive, it said I can just install it in the future if I want. And a few of my programs I will have to uninstall like Nod32, Nero and a few others.
__________________

Max Power is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.