This could be a big problem for others microsoft essentials and windows 7.

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have been using it for a couple weeks now (MSE), and no problems that I know of, and I scan every few days. Oh and you would think I was an antivirus program salesman tonight at work, some guy I work with says he doesn't use AV protection and I was like wtf ?!? So I told him about the dangers of doing so and told him about AVG and Microsoft Security Essentials, and basically, the whole need to have a freaking AV program ! lol

Anyway, I digress... I was considering putting Zone Alarm on this computer because i have used it in the past and liked it for the most part. I have WIndows 7 and MSE, so if I do try it, I will try to remember to post back here to say how it went.

And thanks for the heads up, Mike !

MSE is Microsoft's stand alone protection software. But it is much more than just a anti-virus. It combines the anti-virus, anti-malware (The Malware scanning engine from teh monthly scanning tool is included) along with the Anti-Spyware engine from Defender has been beefed up and included in this as well.

Once you install MSE Windows disables Defender. It is no longer used as MSE is far greater. It combines the efforts of 3 scanning tools into 1. There are many topics about MSE around. I know i have created one here along with at least 2 or 3 of them in the virus area about this very same subject.

I have been using it for a couple weeks now (MSE), and no problems that I know of, and I scan every few days. Oh and you would think I was an antivirus program salesman tonight at work, some guy I work with says he doesn't use AV protection and I was like wtf ?!? So I told him about the dangers of doing so and told him about AVG and Microsoft Security Essentials, and basically, the whole need to have a freaking AV program ! lol