Corrupted DX9C - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-19-2005, 05:16 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default

i should have said RE installing SP2. I already have it and think its rather good. If i reinstall it will it mean i have to reinstall all my security updates, drivers, etc. ?
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 09:06 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Probably. Although, like I said, it most likely won't solve this problem.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 02:49 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default

meh ok, any other suggestions?
__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 11:15 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default

Ok, could this be causing lower than usual performance in games?

This is found uner the network tab in Dxdiag:

The registry information for the service provider 'DirectPlay8 TCP/IP Service Provider' is missing or damaged.
The registry information for the service provider 'DirectPlay8 IPX Service Provider' is missing or damaged.
The registry information for the service provider 'DirectPlay8 Modem Service Provider' is missing or damaged.
The registry information for the service provider 'DirectPlay8 Serial Service Provider' is missing or damaged.
You should reinstall DirectX to get the latest version.
Problems were found in the system registry. Details are available in the saved text file.
__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 06:29 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

Have you tried downgrading DirectX, the upgrading again? I don't even know if it's possiblt, just throwing something out. About those keys - It doesn't seem like thay would result in diminished performace on non-multiplayer games (and are even less likely to impact single player only games). Do all other DX files check out OK? Those bad keys may be signs of more widespread damage to your DX system.
__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 10:36 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

You can't downgrade DX...at least, not easily. It's one of those heavily integrated things.

As for its effects, yeah, I agree, not much of that would have an impact on your gaming...EXCEPT the TCP/IP...THAT you might not want being effected poorly...
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 03:11 AM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default

Well, I play EQ2 (online only game) but surely something like that would just affect my ping, not my FPS?

My ping seems to be nice tho on EU servers for ANY game....
__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 10:05 AM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

None of those errors you listed would effect your FPS, so if yer experiencing FPS problems, I'd look elsewhere.

Those errors are almost all related to modem/network functions.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 10:23 AM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default

Ahh ok cheers, i'm now just thinking the particular games i am having problems with are now unrelated to the DX9 corruption. Meh, thxs for all your help folks

Saved me from reformatting
__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 10:33 AM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

Yeah, don't worry about choppiness in online games. As long as it doesn't happen on purely local games, you should be fine. Also, a good way to test your performance is to run a benchmark right after you reformat (after all the drivers are installed), and remeber/record the score, and run the bench a couple of times whenever you think there is a serious problem with 3D performance.
__________________

__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.