Corrupt Windows Update - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-13-2003, 05:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1
Send a message via AIM to zoogly Send a message via Yahoo to zoogly
Default Corrupt Windows Update

Ok, maybe you can help me with this, I've been having lots of trouble.

Two days ago I got that corrupted windows update that defected computers with service pack one. It blasted some dll's it wasn't suppose to. My issue hasn't been the same as any other issues on forums.

When I started my computer it would say it couldn't find shlwapi.dll aand tehn it says it couldn't load msgina.dll. So later, I used my recovery disk to get to a command prompt. I copied the msgina.dll and shlwapi.dll from the cd into my comp (c:\windows\system32\). When I started back up, it worked, but it said shdocvw.dll was missing and exploror.exe didn't start. So once again I copied the shdocvw.dll from my disk into my computer. Now my computer starts fine but I can't start any internet browsers. It said it couldn't find urlmon.dll. So then I copied that dll from my recovery disk. Now windows starts fine, but when I visit a webpage, it downloads the html of the webpage instead of opening it. Sometimes the download dialog will just keep flashing on and off but the page won't load. All my instant messaging programs work so it's not my internet connection. I already tried registering urlmon.dll with regsvr32.exe. I'm not even sure if urlmon.dll is the problem, because I copied it from the disk!

I am going to try expanding a new shell32.dll and winlogon.exe becuase that's what I was suppose to do origonally but I didn't.

If you have any help or know of any help somewhere PLEASE TELL ME!!!!! None of my data was destroyed but I can't browse the internet. I can't find anything about it anywhere.
__________________

zoogly is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 06:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

try a repair installation, if that doesn't work try downloading these dll files, then temporarily move your HDD to the PC you're using and replace these files
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 11:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 549
Default

ya if the repair install doesn't work, like apokalipse said just dl the files u need off a friend.

Linux is looking better all the time.
__________________
This is Linux country. If you listen carefully, you can hear Windows reboot...
<a href=\"http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html\"> How to ask questions the smart way.</a>
<a href=\"http://action.eff.org/action/index.asp?step=2&item=2906\"> Help stop the PIRATE Act.</a>


chrönik04 is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 07:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

- I downloaded Redhat Linux 9, i might try downloading Mandrake linux when my download limit resets (ive got 300MB left out of 3GB) i get restricted to 28.8 speed if i go over. -
reinstall IE? http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 11:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 549
Thumbs up

hmm.. don't wait till next month- just check ebay, theres always someone selling a mandrake 9.x distro dirt cheap!
__________________
This is Linux country. If you listen carefully, you can hear Windows reboot...
<a href=\"http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html\"> How to ask questions the smart way.</a>
<a href=\"http://action.eff.org/action/index.asp?step=2&item=2906\"> Help stop the PIRATE Act.</a>


chrönik04 is offline  
Old 11-15-2003, 01:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9
Default

I've been hearing a lot of people saying that the SuSE distro of linux is becoming more popular, is it just cheaper or is it better?
gordon-guru is offline  
Old 11-15-2003, 08:35 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 10
Default Re: Corrupt Windows Update

Quote:
Originally posted by zoogly
Ok, maybe you can help me with this, I've been having lots of trouble.

Two days ago I got that corrupted windows update that defected computers with service pack one. It blasted some dll's it wasn't suppose to. My issue hasn't been the same as any other issues on forums.

When I started my computer it would say it couldn't find shlwapi.dll aand tehn it says it couldn't load msgina.dll. So later, I used my recovery disk to get to a command prompt. I copied the msgina.dll and shlwapi.dll from the cd into my comp (c:\windows\system32\). When I started back up, it worked, but it said shdocvw.dll was missing and exploror.exe didn't start. So once again I copied the shdocvw.dll from my disk into my computer. Now my computer starts fine but I can't start any internet browsers. It said it couldn't find urlmon.dll. So then I copied that dll from my recovery disk. Now windows starts fine, but when I visit a webpage, it downloads the html of the webpage instead of opening it. Sometimes the download dialog will just keep flashing on and off but the page won't load. All my instant messaging programs work so it's not my internet connection. I already tried registering urlmon.dll with regsvr32.exe. I'm not even sure if urlmon.dll is the problem, because I copied it from the disk!

I am going to try expanding a new shell32.dll and winlogon.exe becuase that's what I was suppose to do origonally but I didn't.

If you have any help or know of any help somewhere PLEASE TELL ME!!!!! None of my data was destroyed but I can't browse the internet. I can't find anything about it anywhere.
you could try to reinstall inet Explorer ??? could work
Terrean is offline  
Old 11-15-2003, 11:49 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 549
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gordon-guru
I've been hearing a lot of people saying that the SuSE distro of linux is becoming more popular, is it just cheaper or is it better?
heh, not to completely get off topic here but..
it all depends on your preference, since novell bought suse, its definitely been advertised more. 9.0 is also aval. in a 64bit ver too.
__________________

__________________
This is Linux country. If you listen carefully, you can hear Windows reboot...
<a href=\"http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html\"> How to ask questions the smart way.</a>
<a href=\"http://action.eff.org/action/index.asp?step=2&item=2906\"> Help stop the PIRATE Act.</a>


chrönik04 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.