corrupt windows root /system 32/ntoskrnl.exe - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2005, 02:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6
Default corrupt windows root /system 32/ntoskrnl.exe

Hello,

I have a friends pc showing the following error:

File is missing or corrupt <windows root>/system32/ntoskrnl.exe please reinstall

I have a copy of the missing file from another pc, is it possible to simply copy the file over to the corrupted os/hard drive?

Thanks!

Kona
__________________

kona_uk is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 02:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default

Yup, if you have a dos bootdisk, stick it in and make sure the computer is set to boot from floppy.

Then just copy the file from your disk to the system32 folder.

In case you're un-familliar with dos, this would be the command you should type to copy the file.

Code:
If he's running XP or possibly 2k:
copy a:\ntoskrnl.exe c:\windows\system32\

If he's running NT or possibly 2k :
copy a:\ntoskrnl.exe c:\winnt\system32\
__________________

__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 02:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

If that does not work, a repair install will fix that. See my sig for instructions.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 04:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: corrupt windows root /system 32/ntoskrnl.exe

Quote:
Originally posted by kona_uk
Hello,

I have a friends pc showing the following error:

File is missing or corrupt <windows root>/system32/ntoskrnl.exe please reinstall

I have a copy of the missing file from another pc, is it possible to simply copy the file over to the corrupted os/hard drive?

Thanks!

Kona
that's the boot screen right? Replace it with another one with a program like style xp
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 08:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Default The problem may not be so big.

I turned on our Windows 2000 Pro machine and got an error message, "<windows 2000>system 32\ntoskrnl.exe is corrupt or missing--Windows cannot start, please reinstall file." The machine made a soft rapid clicking noise until the POST had finished. I could not get into the BIOS. The boot diskettes would not work, either. The entire array of problems was caused by a defective keyboard. With a different keyboard the machine works just fine and all of the problems are gone. Sometimes this error message may not be so difficult to cure.
home workshop is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 08:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Dude, this thread is from July.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 09:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Yes, but I did not have the problem until December. There may be others like me who are looking for any and all help on this error message from any time period, no matter when the thread was active. Solid information is timeless.
home workshop is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 01:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by home workshop
Yes, but I did not have the problem until December. There may be others like me who are looking for any and all help on this error message from any time period, no matter when the thread was active. Solid information is timeless.
if you found a workaround or solution to an unsolved problem, post it. that the purpose of this forum.
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.