Corrupt regisrty hive in Windows XP - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-22-2006, 01:20 PM   #21 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

1. Click Start, click Run, and then type CD-ROM drive letter:\i386\winnt32.exe /cmdcons in the Open box, where CD-ROM drive letter is the drive letter assigned to your CD-ROM drive.
2. Click OK, follow the instructions on the screen to finish Setup, and then restart your computer.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 01:30 PM   #22 (permalink)
ADR
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 14
Default

I cannot boot my laptop up. I'm using this forum from another pc. Is there a way to install it from outside of windows. Is the chkdsk command in another startup disk e.g win98. and will it work on a XP installed disk?
__________________

ADR is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 01:35 PM   #23 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

To install perform the following:

Use a windows 98 OEM bootdisk from www.bootdisk.com

Insert the XP CD
From a command prompt move to the I386 directory and type:
CD-ROM drive letter:\i386\winnt32.exe /cmdcons
A dialog will be displayed asking for confirmation. Click Yes.
File will be copied to the computer and an extra item added to the boot menu.
C:\CMDCONS\BOOTSECT.DAT="Microsoft Windows XP Command Console" /cmdcons
A completion message will be displayed. Click OK
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 08:33 PM   #24 (permalink)
ADR
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 14
Default

I've tried with a 98 boot disk and I cannot see the HD. In order to see the HD I need to load the storage controller drivers. This is normally done using the F6 prompt. On the 98 boot disk sequence you can see the generic drivers being loaded. Is there any way to add the OEM drivers I have into the boot disk so that they boot with the other drivers?
ADR is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 09:42 PM   #25 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

thats weird, I can see my sata drive using that, thats how I fdisked my drive
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.