Corrupt file :( - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2006, 06:28 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default

So if I stop overclocking my system I won't get this error? Is that what your saying? A definition would help rather than a straight criticism.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 06:36 AM   #12 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Syphanx
So if I stop overclocking my system I won't get this error? Is that what your saying? A definition would help rather than a straight criticism.

I give short straight answers. I don't type too good.
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 06:42 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default

Ok I understand that, but if you don't explain that answer to me how am I supposed to utilise it at all? Simply, I can't. I can admit that I'm not a massive computer wizz, hence why I come on tech-forums for help, therefore don't know what all this CRC or Hash-code error is...
I'm not "jumping you", but rather just asking for a more detailed answer and if you can't do that then it's alright, but I'm sure someone else is willing to. Sorry if I got you all worked up .
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 06:51 AM   #14 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

it is never a good idea to overclock a computer and leave it like that continuously. strange things can happen.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 07:30 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default

Oh ok then. thanks.
So is there anything that I can do now to help fix the problem? Will reclocking my computer back to it's factory speed help at all? Or is it too late for that?
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 02:42 PM   #16 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

I hope so, I didn't even realize you had overclock your system. Might want to set it back to default, check out the problem again. Also, what about putting the file on a CD, try it out on another machine, see if it opens.

If not, the file is corrupted, if your friend can download the same file and it's not corrupted, then you should check your computer or your network connection. Both leads to data corruption.
Law is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 03:57 AM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 168
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
it is never a good idea to overclock a computer and leave it like that continuously. strange things can happen.
Yes, that's a good point, EricB!

I didn't notice that Syphanx had overclocked the CPU.
__________________

kwokwai is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.