corrupt boot + master boot sectors - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-07-2004, 12:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default corrupt boot + master boot sectors

just this morning my computer wouldn't boot, it would get to the XP startup screen and then for about 1/10 of a second it would show the 'blue screen of death' and I saw some hexadecimal values. I put in the XP CD and went to the recovery console, I didn't know how to work it before because I never used it but I figured out what the commands do with Help, I rebuilt the boot and master boot sectors and now it boots fine.
what could have corrupted the boot and master boot sectors?
- and I know I didn't have any viruses
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-07-2004, 02:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 154
Default

whats the message on that blue screen?
How many HDD are you using? Do you have a multi-boot system before?
changing you MBS is a very risky procedure.. so better cheak these question first before you do some changes.
were happy that your PC work just fine now.

success!
__________________

__________________
http://www.panda.org

-- Make This World a Better Place to live In... Care for all the Living --
Press_F1 is offline  
Old 02-07-2004, 11:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I have 1 hard drive in 1 partition (NTFS), and XP home in 2 installations.
I did a chkdsk in the recovery console and it told me there were a few errors it fixed, and that the boot + master boot sectors were corrupt and needed repairing. since I could not use it without rebuilding them, I felt it was my only option.
apparently there was a bit of a power line problem in our area, could this mean there wasn't enough power, and the computer misprocessing the boot and master boot sectors?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-07-2004, 11:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

and I had to change my boot.ini afterwards to this:

[boot loader]
timeout=20
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOW S
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Micro soft Windows XP Home"
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\BACKUP="Backup Windows XP"
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-07-2004, 11:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
paintballer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 317
Default

I had a similar problem, I just ended up backing up some files from safe mode and reformatting (i was gonna do it soon anyway) What happened with me though was that I went to log on the blue screen came up and then it restarted.
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+
Biostar T-Force 550
2GB Gskill Ram
250GB Western Digital
200GB Western Digital
2 DVD Burners
Apevia 500W PSU
XION Solaris Case
XFX GeForce 8600GT
Hanns∑G HG-191RP 19" 2ms Widescreen LCD
Ubuntu, Windows XP
________________________

Acer Aspire 5570-2609
paintballer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.