Core 2 Duo the best processor? What about Vista? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-17-2007, 12:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
This is sparta!
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 744
Default Core 2 Duo the best processor? What about Vista?

is it true that i will have to buy a new Windows Vista Ultimate for a Core 2 Duo processor? Help me out please! I'm planning to upgrade out of my Pentium 4.
__________________

akasixcon is offline  
Old 11-17-2007, 01:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Core 2 Duo the best processor? What about Vista?

I am 99% sure that you will not. It only matters for when you change your mobo.
__________________

__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 11-17-2007, 01:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Core 2 Duo the best processor? What about Vista?

You won't need Vista Ultimate for a C2D. Even Windows XP and maybe Windows 2000 will support dual core processors, and all versions of Vista do. If you already have a copy of XP, it will work on your new Core 2 Duo, but if you're getting a 64 bit processor (which I think the C2D is, not big on Intel chips), you might want to at least get a 64-bit edition of Windows XP or Windows Vista. It's not necessary (64 bit chips can run 32 bit OS'es just fine) but if you want to get the most out of your 64-bit CPU and be able to run 64-bit applications, then it's recommended.

Personally, I still recommend XP, as it's more reliable and older applications work better on it. I would only go to Vista if I were going to get a DX10 compatible graphics card and play BioShock or Crysis or whatever on it.
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 11-17-2007, 01:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Core 2 Duo the best processor? What about Vista?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CalcProgrammer1 View Post
You won't need Vista Ultimate for a C2D. Even Windows XP and maybe Windows 2000 will support dual core processors, and all versions of Vista do. If you already have a copy of XP, it will work on your new Core 2 Duo, but if you're getting a 64 bit processor (which I think the C2D is, not big on Intel chips), you might want to at least get a 64-bit edition of Windows XP or Windows Vista. It's not necessary (64 bit chips can run 32 bit OS'es just fine) but if you want to get the most out of your 64-bit CPU and be able to run 64-bit applications, then it's recommended.

Personally, I still recommend XP, as it's more reliable and older applications work better on it. I would only go to Vista if I were going to get a DX10 compatible graphics card and play BioShock or Crysis or whatever on it.
I think he means that he has currently got a P4 and Vista Ultimate. He wants to know if he will have to buy a new copy if he swaps out his old processor for a C2D. But the OPs post was rather vague.
__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 11-17-2007, 01:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Core 2 Duo the best processor? What about Vista?

Ah. Not sure on that one. If you have a valid COA for a retail (boxed) version of Vista, it should allow 3 different hardware setups to authenticate correctly before it says the COA is bad. However, (or so I've heard), if you have an OEM version, it only allows installation on one set of hardware, and it won't allow you to authenticate on another.

It will allow you to install Vista, so don't worry about that, but it will ask you to authenticate once you're up and running. During that time, you should be asked to authenticate on the Internet or over the phone. At that time, you can call the Microsoft support center and explain that you've upgraded your hardware and need to authenticate Vista on it.
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 11-17-2007, 01:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Core 2 Duo the best processor? What about Vista?

Did you buy a OEM version of Vista or a Retail version? If you bought OEM then you already used your 1 activation. Retail has 3 activations and therefor could be used again.

Gratned this can be gotten around with just calling M$ and telling them that you HDD crashed. But that is against the rules.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-17-2007, 02:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: Core 2 Duo the best processor? What about Vista?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
Did you buy a OEM version of Vista or a Retail version? If you bought OEM then you already used your 1 activation. Retail has 3 activations and therefor could be used again.

Gratned this can be gotten around with just calling M$ and telling them that you HDD crashed. But that is against the rules.
So if you have the retail version, you can install it onto 3 different computers at the same time with the same activation?
__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns∑G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Old 11-17-2007, 03:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Core 2 Duo the best processor? What about Vista?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MetalOwns View Post
So if you have the retail version, you can install it onto 3 different computers at the same time with the same activation?
No. This just means you can install it on 3 different PC's without having to call M$ for activation. Once it is active it can be the only machine on the web that is active.

If you have more than 1 machine active with the same serial at any given time, 1 will always become inactive.

When you go for updates the first machine will try for WGA validation. If it passes any other machine with that serial when it tries for WGA validation will fail. The reason for this is the hardware profile which is linked to your serial is kept on file. If that isnt the same hardware profile that is matched to the current active serial then it will be a inactive or pirated serial.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-17-2007, 03:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: Core 2 Duo the best processor? What about Vista?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post

If you have more than 1 machine active with the same serial at any given time, 1 will always become inactive.
That's what I thought...got a little confused when I read this thread though. Thanks for the clarification.
__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns∑G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Old 11-17-2007, 05:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Core 2 Duo the best processor? What about Vista?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213
Once it is active it can be the only machine on the web that is active.
It can be the only machine that gets Microsoft updates. There can be more than one on the Web, but should it connect to Microsoft for updates, they will detect the hardware change.
__________________

__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel core duo T2050 17Inc.Widescreen Laptop lovecompu New Technology and Products 0 09-24-2007 10:06 AM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM
WTS/WTT for a Core 2 Duo processor mtb2005 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 9 09-11-2007 09:11 PM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
AMD Athlonô 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.