copying dvds - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2003, 04:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 39
Default copying dvds

I recently recieved a sony dvd burner for christmas, and i just purchased a dvd-rom today to do on the fly burning of dvds. My question involves burning copyrighted dvd movies. Many of the dvd movies are 7 gigs or so, while dvdrs are only 4.7 gigs. Is there any way to burn these dvd's onto a single recordable or rerecordable dvd? Also, which program is the best to copy the dvd's (with the necessary copyright breaking and such) so as to play them on a normal dvd player (not on the computer).

Thank you
__________________

maddogsdhs is offline  
Old 12-28-2003, 04:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 469
Default

is this appropriate here?
__________________

__________________
Death has a thousand doors, let's see which one our victim chose.

"There's one thing that you learn on this job, is that human beings are capable of anything"

If you chase two rabbits, you lose them both

You say tomato... I say cause of death
For sale/trade
http://www.techist.com/pc/f40/fully-...r-fs-t-139695/
microsoftne is offline  
Old 12-28-2003, 04:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Why not?
Making a backup copy of your own DVDs is absolutely legal.
On to the post.....
There are ways to compress the data to make it available to a single DVD but, lets be honest....we are looking for quality here.
You have to burn this onto 2 DVDs....and I recommend using DVD X COPY. The Express version is detailed enough for this operation.
As for the copyright protection breaking.....you are on your own.

-Mike
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 12-28-2003, 06:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

here is the guide for copying dvd movies:

http://www.freewebs.com/computer-guides/dvd_copying.htm
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 12-29-2003, 03:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 500
Default Making Backup copies of Your DVD's

Great question ,,,

Yes you are able to perform exactly what you wish to do with the software that you have,, and here are a few tips to add to the already good info,,,

321studios - DVDxCopy is the best software for this purpose,, I have tried a few,, and this one seems to work best,,

once you have your Rip of the DVD,, you need to get it below that threshhold of 4.7gigs,, to do this use a prog called DVDshrink,,, very simple small proggy that will make you RIP just the right size to fit on a single DVD,,,

little more....

Take a DVD you want to back up that is a DVD5 disc (single layer) and RIP it with DVD DECRYPTER in ISO READ mode.

This creates a single large ISO file on your computer's HDD. This ISO file is called an IMAGE file.

Now put DVD DECRYPTER in ISO WRITE mode and select the ISO from your HDD and burn it to a DVD

If it works in your stand alone then you know the issue is not so much the media but with the OTHER burning methods you are using.

If this DVD doesn't work then you have major problems which are probably related to the media.

If you want to test a DVD9 back up then use whatever program you normally use for that (such as DVDShrink or DVD2ONE etc.) but set the final file size to around 4000MB (which is a little bit shy of 4.0GB)

Now most of the programs that compress DVD9 discs will spit out a VIDEO_TS folder with your DVD FILES ready for burning.

At this point use ImgTool Classic. This is a FREEWARE program that you can download.

ImgTool Classic will create an ISO IMAGE file from your VIDEO_TS folder (actually you put your VIDEO_TS folder under another folder and select NOT the VIDEO_TS folder but the folder that IT is in).

So for instance create a FOLDER called MOVIE and in that MOVIE FOLDER create another FOLDER called VIDEO_TS and put your DVD VIDEO FILES in that VIDEO_TS folder. Start up ImgTool Classic and select the MOVIE folder (not the VIDEO_TS folder).

When ImgTool Classic is done you will have an ISO IMAGE file that you can then burn with DVD Decrypter.

Again if this works then GREAT but if not then you have issues that COULD be media related but if your final DVD is less than 4.0GB and you still have problems then it might be like a burner malfunction or something really odd unrelated to MEDIA.

Really poorly made cheap media can often have trouble when you go over the 4.0GB mark (which is approximately 4096MB).

Most decent discs will not have trouble if you stay below 4.20GB (which is around 4300MB though I try to stay around 4200MB - 4250MB). Only the best of blank media can handle full size which is approximately 4.37GB or approximately 4480MB for DVD-R and something like 4435MB for DVD+R

PRINCO ( what I WAS using) is really s@i# a@s stuff.

Most people find that you definitely will have problems if you go over 4.0 GB (about 4096MB) and some even try to keep 'em around 3.9GB or even 3.8GB

Just use DVD DECRYPTER if it is a SINGLE LAYER disc. If it is a dual layer disc then use DVDShrink (which is free) to reduce it to around 4.0GB (roughly 4096MB) then use ImgTool Classic (another free program) to make an ISO IMAGE file from the output you get from DVDShrink. Then you can burn that ISO IMAGE with DVD DECRYPTER.

Problem solved but yeah in the future I suggest to everyone,, DONT always go for the deal!! Best to go with tested and true, such as MAXELL, TAIYO YUDEN, RITEK G04(4x)/GO3 (2x) and then you don't have to worry so much especially with the final SIZE of the DVD.
__________________
Crash Abbott
MCSE, MCP+I, A+

\"You\'re the Disease, and I\'m the Cure!\"
CrashAbbott is offline  
Old 12-29-2003, 03:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 500
Default

take what you need outta that,,,

DVD xCopy with DVDshrink should do you well enough,,

cheers,
__________________
Crash Abbott
MCSE, MCP+I, A+

\"You\'re the Disease, and I\'m the Cure!\"
CrashAbbott is offline  
Old 12-29-2003, 04:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default Re: Making Backup copies of Your DVD's

i've tried them all, dvdxcopy is not the best software in terms of quality, it was designed with simplicity of use over quality like a dummies guide to dvd backup.

crashabbott you are constantly telling people to get the dvd under 4GB which might be a bit paranoia. i have never experienced that problem using cheap TDK, shop4tech brand, princo (yes princo), maxell, and various Leda brands with 2 different burners, you just got really unlucky
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 12-29-2003, 08:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 469
Default

try dvd shrink and copy to dvd they work great
__________________
Death has a thousand doors, let's see which one our victim chose.

"There's one thing that you learn on this job, is that human beings are capable of anything"

If you chase two rabbits, you lose them both

You say tomato... I say cause of death
For sale/trade
http://www.techist.com/pc/f40/fully-...r-fs-t-139695/
microsoftne is offline  
Old 12-30-2003, 11:19 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 500
Default

Just providing options that might save people money over the longrun,,,

I like tried tested and true,,

and I have never had ONE coaster since moving to the Pioneer 106d, with the firmware update, using DVDxcopy (which has GREAT quality playback) and DVDshrink,,,

simple and perfect,,

I am so happy,, just like to share the news of a combo that works,,,

to each their own,,,

No Worries,,

cheers
__________________
Crash Abbott
MCSE, MCP+I, A+

\"You\'re the Disease, and I\'m the Cure!\"
CrashAbbott is offline  
Old 12-30-2003, 05:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 207
Default

I use dvd dycripter then ifo edit then dvd 2 one I find I get the best quality and for me it offers the most customization for things like subtitles and adding different vob files that I want etc..
__________________

amd643200+ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.