convert to ntfs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-10-2004, 09:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default convert to ntfs

How do I tell xp pro to convert fat32 to ntfs thats already installed
__________________

derrmc is offline  
Old 07-10-2004, 09:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 77
Default

I can only assume that you are doing an upgrade to XP. It should do it automatically. Windows XP Pro only works under an NTFS file system.
__________________

__________________
-Pentium IV 2.6C w/Hyper Threading Technology
-1GB DDR PC3200 RAM
-Radeon 9800 XT
-120GB 10,000 RPM SATA HD
-52x 48x 52x Sony CD Rom Drive
-16x DVD R/RW Drive
-Windows XP Professional
-Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS Platinum Pro
-Intel i875 800MHZ FSB motherboard
-1.44 MB Floppy Drive
-Thermaltake Pro case
Jonesie is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 05:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default ntfs

I was ask to use the search option before I ask a question like how do you convert xp pro fat32 to ntfs. my first reply said that xp pro will only run on ntfs. I know different because I upgraded windows me to xp pro and it never ask me if I wanted to convert to ntfs and it is running on fat32. I believe there are no silly questions because maybe somebody could learn something
derrmc is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 06:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

Yes XP works with FAT32. To convert, do as microbell says. If you want to learn more about these format, you can also hit the help tab under the start button on your window.
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 05:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

convert c: /fs:ntfs
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 05:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default

Thanks for the info
derrmc is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 05:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

np
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 07-22-2006, 02:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 23
Default

hello i also have a question
i have a drive i want to convert in ntfs from fat32.the drive has already used memory.if i convert it to ntfs will it also format the disk drive?--->i lose everything i have in this drive?
54myg3r0 is offline  
Old 07-22-2006, 02:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by samygero
hello i also have a question
i have a drive i want to convert in ntfs from fat32.the drive has already used memory.if i convert it to ntfs will it also format the disk drive?--->i lose everything i have in this drive?
No you won't lose any data. Open up command prompt

CONVERT drive: /fs:ntfs

Example the C: drive

C:\> CONVERT C: /fs:ntfs

Example the D: drive

C:\> CONVERT D: /fs:ntfs

Now once you convert to NTFS there is no going back, if you want to go back to FAT32 you have to reformat which you will lose data.
Law is offline  
Old 07-22-2006, 02:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 23
Default

thx for the fast reply.
I also would like to know something else.I have this laptop and i have partitionned the disk drive in two pieces.I put the programs in one partition and the data like movies and stuff in the other.
should i have the one in FAT32 and the other in NTFS?
and wich one.i m asking this because you surely know more in this than me.Thx again
__________________

54myg3r0 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.