Control Panel, rundll32.exe error - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-06-2005, 07:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 15
Default Control Panel, rundll32.exe error

G'day all.
I need help with an error that I get. When I turn on the computer, go into Control Panel and open Add or Remove Programs for the first time, I get this error. Look at the attatchment or if you can't for some reason, it says this:

"rundll32.exe - Application Error"
"The application failed to initialize properly (0xc000142). Click on OK to terminate the application."

After I click OK, the box closes and I can then open Add or Remove Programs normally. I don't know what it is but can someone help me get rid of it.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg app error.jpg (23.5 KB, 61 views)

spiro is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 07:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 158

What OS are you running? XP I take it? sp2? Have you tried a System file check?
start -> cmd. type 'sfc /scannow', just out of interest have you tried different RAM?

I\'m not your Google Butler!
dexta182 is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 12:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him

I think you got a virus, or some other type of malware. I'm going to assume as well that you have XP. Run a system repair. Boot from the Windows CD, the rest is self explanatory.
Him is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 12:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby

Could be a program was removed and took a dll with it that was needed.

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 09:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Osiris's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris

Thats possible. When ever you remove a program and if it asks you if you want to delete all files and folders, etc etc, always say no, because they might take some system files with them, as with this case, if thats what you did.
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 08:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 15

can i download the file from somewhere? is it that important because the computer still works fine after it goes away.

i'm running XP service pack 2 and avg says: no virus.

spiro is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.