Control Panel - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-19-2004, 11:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2
Angry Control Panel

Cannot open my control panel. It flashes on the desktop and then closes. I can manually open the .cpl files but that's a real pain. All .cpl files are in their "proper" place, i.e. I386 and windows/system32. I am using Windows XP Pro and ran AdAware and Norton Antivirus. Still no luck!

Any advice. Thanks!!!!
__________________

Big Lu is offline  
Old 08-19-2004, 01:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Well, since no one's responded and I've not come across this problem before...I'd say it's time for a reinstall. Just pop yer OS disk in and let it repair itself.

Either that or roll-back to a restore point.

Before that, though, check your running processes. You can even look at the registry keys under RUN and see what's going on.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-20-2004, 07:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
stoneys-nutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 64
Send a message via ICQ to stoneys-nutz
Default

it sounds like you may have a trojan of some sort, i had a problem like this, run spybot search and destroy, adaware, stinger, and go to trend micro for an online scan, here are some links for you.

http://housecall.trendmicro.com/hous...start_corp.asp

http://vil.nai.com/vil/stinger/

http://www.safer-networking.org/en/index.html

http://www.download.com/3000-2144-10...age&tag=button

scan with these and your system will be clean !

hope this helps

ps.
get rid of norton and get A.V.G. free version, go here

http://www.grisoft.com/us/us_index.php

pps.
dont forget to turn system restore off before scanning
__________________
dont linger with your finger on the trigger
stoneys-nutz is offline  
Old 08-22-2004, 07:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 12
Default

some times a error check on your hard drive can fix that sort of thing too. You can set it to check the hard drive when you start up in disk management. which is in admin tools.
pcflea is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.