Control Panel - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-11-2004, 03:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1
Send a message via AIM to ssj4gogita4 Send a message via Yahoo to ssj4gogita4
Default Control Panel

I dont know if this is the right forum place for it but when I open control panel, which I have no problem doing form the start, I cant open any of the programs. I get this error: Access to the specified device, path, or file is denied.

Does anyone know how I can fix this? This also happens with the other programs on the desktop. I cant open those. When I double click, nothing happens. Is it a virus or something? Please help!
__________________

ssj4gogita4 is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 03:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 185
Default

What OS are you running? Is this a home or work computer? Is this the first time its happened or has it always been like this? It could be a problem with the permissions associated with your logon or spyware or a virus.
__________________

__________________
\"The surest way to corrupt a youth is to instruct him to hold in higher esteem those who think alike than those who think differently.\" Friedrich Nietzsche
cajun33 is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 06:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 14
Default

Hi,
there can be two reasons for this.
If u are workng in a network the access rights is not set for u to acccess these things.
Otherwise some virus may be causing this.
akhilbabu is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 08:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 7
Default

Hi, if you are using WinxP I recommend go back too early point; Just restore the unit back before this problem happened...

Start --> All Programs --> Accesories --> System Tools -->
System Restore

Anyway the most of case is a virus, so recommend use it first....
Gabino is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 09:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

How about id the System Restore didnt turn on?
__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.