Continuous reboot loop, even in safe mode - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2004, 11:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3
Red face Continuous reboot loop, even in safe mode

Hi Everyone,

First, I would like to say hello to everyone as I am new to the board....

Okay, I do not concider myself a newbe to the computer world but I have something that has stumpped me...hopefully, someone with more knowledge than I can enlighten me...

Let me first discribe issue #1. I have an SATA set-up on my MOBO with two HD's running RAID 0 and a couple other HD's. I oringinally had this configuration running flawlessly. However, I experienced an issue a few months ago and had to reload XP. I removed my SATA set-up and went for the ATA HD's. Everything was working fine. I have a laptop that I use to surf the net with but want to start video editing and want my desktop back.

Issue #1. I want to set up my SATA's again b/c they are 10k RPM and will be perfect for editing large files. To do this, I need to reload XP Pro. I remove my old ATA's for now b/c I don't want any corrupy files jumping from my ATA to my SATA drive (just call me paranoid). I am running an ABIT MOBO (IC7-MAX3) with a Prescot 2.8 800FSB CPU WITHOUT a floppy XP does not recognize my SATA set-up so I need to hit F6 on the first startup screen. Since I do not have a floppy I can not do this. I did some surfing pn the net and found a way to creat a Win XP disc that contains the SATA drivers so I do not have to press F6 at start up.

I got all the way through the XP set-up process with the "custom" xp install disc that I created. When my system trys to log into XP it is in a continuous reboot loop. It will go into the XP splash screen and then a the "blue screen of death" appears for about .5 seconds and my computer reboots on its own. It's almost like someone is pressing the reset button. This happens over and over again. The next screen I see (after BIOS and other MOBO stuff loads) is the XP "illness" screen "your computer did not restart normally...choose safe mode, safe with network, safe with command...

I tried to choose Safemode (all varities). My system gets to the mup.sys driver and reboots AGAIN!!! No matter what I do, XP continully reboots my system.

I have done some research on the mup.sys driver and I don't think this is the issue. I have removed all PCI cards so I know those are not the cause of my problems either.

My ultimate question....what the heck do I do now?? Could the "home gorwn" xp install CD be the problem??? I have a legitimate XP install CD with a license. However, that is usless to me since I don't have a floppy and can not load the SATA driver.

If anyone has had this issue or can provide some insight I would be forever in your debt. Better put, my compuer would be for ever in your debt because if I can't fix this issue it's going to be thrown out my living room window!

Thanks in advance!!!!

98ramair is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 11:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
Harper's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903

sounds like sassa worm


Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 11:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3

Hi Silesia,

Thanks for the quick reply. I am not sure of the virus idea. This is a fresh copy of XP install CD (with a few mods). My PC that I am installing XP on is not connected to the internet or any other system, it's a stand alone. I suppose I could have infected the install CD that I created...hmmm. I did a scan of my laptop from which I created the install CD and I do not have the Sassa worm on it so I am leaning away from this as an issue.

To clarify, my system has not even gotten to the first "real" load of XP. I have not even had the chance to "activate" XP yet. I think the next logical step of my XP setup would be activation but with this reboot issue, I can not even get to that option. The fresh install will not even bring me to that step...
98ramair is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.