Constant comp rebooting... Due to ATI updates - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2005, 11:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4
Default Constant comp rebooting... Due to ATI updates

My computer starts rebooting randomly and constantly when my radeon 9600 XT drivers are updated. Yep. Just like that. I checked for overheating or bad memory, but my whole system is 100% fine when I uninstall the drivers, and when I re-update, it starts rebooting continuously randomly, a few minutes after reaching the desktop.
__________________

dstalker3 is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 01:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

mabye you shouldnt install the drivers.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 09:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4
Default

If I don't I can't play any games because it asks for 3d acceleration blah blah
dstalker3 is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 12:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

install alternatives, like the omega drivers....google them
jaksback is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 12:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4
Default

I tried Omega too... same problems as soon as any driver is there..
dstalker3 is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 02:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

do you think it could be hardware related?
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 05:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4
Default

I ran memtest for a few hours with no problems... what else could it be? I've had my computer assembled by technicians..
dstalker3 is offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 02:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

could it be an os problem
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.