Considering Vista 32bit / 64 bit? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-07-2007, 06:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 26
Default Considering Vista 32bit / 64 bit?

Hello

I am considering buying windows vista.
32bit or 64bit?
how do i know whats right for me?

I do run some old softwere like "startrek armada" but im also into the soon to be released "LOTRO" .
i have heard that LOTRO has had some trouble with vista but i doubt that will last.
I also plan on useing the computer as a TV and DVD entertainment center.
__________________

IDerekI is offline  
Old 04-07-2007, 09:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Considering Vista 32bit / 64 bit?

Hello,

Personally I would get 64-bit Vista, mainly because it has specific security features (such as Kernel Patch Protection aka PatchGuard) which, when combined with a latest AMD or Intel 64 bit processor, makes it much more secure than the 32-bit Vista.
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 04-07-2007, 11:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: Considering Vista 32bit / 64 bit?

Do you have a 64bit processor?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 04-07-2007, 04:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 26
Default Re: Considering Vista 32bit / 64 bit?

oh, so i select 32bit/64bit depending on whether my processor has 64bit able? hehe my computer knowledge is just growing.

incidently it is 64bit ready , but thanks for telling me.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Processor
Type / Form Factor: Intel Pentium D 925

Multi-Core Technology: Dual-Core

64-bit Computing: Yes

Processor Qty: 1

Clock Speed: 3 GHz

Bus Speed: 800 MHz

Compatible Processor Socket: LGA775 Socket

Manufacturing Process: 65 nm

Architecture Features: Enhanced SpeedStep technology, streaming SIMD extensions 3, Intel Extended Memory 64 Technology, Execute Disable Bit capability

Cache memory
Installed Size: L2 Cache - 4 MB ( 2 x 2 MB )

Type: Advanced Transfer Cache


arrgh heres the stats, im planning on purchasing a new computer.

One thing i ask is will i be able to use older veriations of softwere?
IDerekI is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 08:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
plumber4578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to plumber4578 Send a message via MSN to plumber4578
Default Re: Considering Vista 32bit / 64 bit?

I don't really know what the differences are between the two except everyone says that driver support for 64bit version is a little behind the 32bit.
__________________
My puter:
MOBO - ASUS P5W DH DELUXE
CPU - INTEL Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
VIDEO - EVGA 8800 GTX
MEM - 4 GB (1BGX4) G.SKILL PC2 6400
PSU - CORSAIR 620WATT
HD - 2 SAMSUNG 500GB 7200 RPM
OS - Windows Vista 64Bit
plumber4578 is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 08:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Considering Vista 32bit / 64 bit?

Quote:
Originally Posted by plumber4578 View Post
I don't really know what the differences are between the two except everyone says that driver support for 64bit version is a little behind the 32bit.
One cause for the slight lag in device driver availability is the fact that only digitally signed drivers can be installed for devices, in Windows Vista x64. But digitally signed drivers mean there's less likely to be stability issues.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 08:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default Re: Considering Vista 32bit / 64 bit?

If you go with Vista 64 bit, Make shure all your hardware in your pc, IE; Video Card, Sound Card, and other things you have on your computer has 64 bit drivers out. Or you'll be in for some problems.

Right now, 64 bit is really lagging behind. Most still only have beta vista 64 bit drivers out.

I went with 64 bit, Cause I knew it would be best for later down the road. Just this road is a old gravel one and may take awhile before I reach the interstate!
__________________

augest is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista install Xandrex New Systems | Building and Buying 2 04-05-2007 04:49 PM
do i need to back up tablet specific drivers when upgrading from vista RC2 to vista rookie1010 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 04-05-2007 05:05 AM
Vista & my Wireless Network motoxer4533 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-31-2007 08:58 PM
Running Vista and Xp? augest New Systems | Building and Buying 4 03-28-2007 03:38 PM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 12:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.