Computers hangs while in MS Office ONLY - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-22-2005, 01:03 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 261
Send a message via AIM to bigstanklo
Default

The PC's at my school do this a a lot. They're on a network and when two people try to print at the same time in the same office app, their computer freezes causing them to lose their work if they haven't saved it. Probably something weird here but just something else to possibly check if more people are on the network using office at the same time as her.
__________________

bigstanklo is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 01:21 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to Halchka99 Send a message via Yahoo to Halchka99
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bigstanklo
The PC's at my school do this a a lot. They're on a network and when two people try to print at the same time in the same office app, their computer freezes causing them to lose their work if they haven't saved it. Probably something weird here but just something else to possibly check if more people are on the network using office at the same time as her.
that might have to do with using the same CD keys.
__________________

Halchka99 is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 01:43 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

here is something else to try,
dowload the following:
http://www.sysinternals.com/ntw2k/fr.../procexp.shtml
http://www.sysinternals.com/ntw2k/source/filemon.shtml

these might help you in finding what is going on. the first is a really good procees tool. you can look at the threads of specific applications and such. very nice.
The second is for monitoring file handles. Watch or access or errors in the list. Exclude out the common applicaitons that run in the background.
Let me know if you need more help with thatl.

Good luck
Inaris is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 02:01 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 50
Default

MS Office is a very heavy program and it consumes large amount of system resources.

My computer also freezes when I turn on my MS Office.
c0mplexity is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 02:19 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

what are you system specs? there is a minimum requirement that you should adhere too.
128mb + 32mb for every installed office application
this doens't include the 256 (base) needed for XP either...
Inaris is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 02:33 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to Halchka99 Send a message via Yahoo to Halchka99
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Inaris
what are you system specs? there is a minimum requirement that you should adhere too.
128mb + 32mb for every installed office application
this doens't include the 256 (base) needed for XP either...

shes got a P4 with 512mb's of ram.

The odd thing is when office hangs, and i check her task manager her performace numbers are correct. Ram and Cpu are both not being used up.(just normal use)
Halchka99 is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 04:21 PM   #17 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I can't find the link, but right before you upgrade it tell that it will check to see if you have a valid one. then it says something like that if you don't have a valid version, you will lose some to all of it's functions

a lot of people don't update their office 2003 for this reason
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 05:38 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to Halchka99 Send a message via Yahoo to Halchka99
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
I can't find the link, but right before you upgrade it tell that it will check to see if you have a valid one. then it says something like that if you don't have a valid version, you will lose some to all of it's functions

a lot of people don't update their office 2003 for this reason
it would do the same with the XP that came with her PC preinstalled.

I know what you are talkin bout though. Ive seen that message
Halchka99 is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 03:00 PM   #19 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

the system isnt powerful enough
talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 03:24 PM   #20 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
the system isnt powerful enough
???

Quote:
Originally posted by Halchka99
shes got a P4 with 512mb's of ram.
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.