Computers hangs while in MS Office ONLY - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-21-2005, 08:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to Halchka99 Send a message via Yahoo to Halchka99
Default Computers hangs while in MS Office ONLY

Hey guys, ive got a lady at work that uses ms office, more so word and excel.

Her computer freezes only during ms office and no other program.

Ive updated her office(03), ive patched up her PC with windows update.

Ive scanned her pc for spyware.

Ive done everything i could think of and she calls me to her desk almost 3-4 times a week saying how her pc is just hanging.

Task manager only shows the proper programs running. The correct amount of CPU and memory is being used.

Everything else on her PC is properly configured and running(no conflicts of any sort)

It boggles my mind how its only in MS Office.

Any hints or clues will be appreciate it.

Thanks
__________________

Halchka99 is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 08:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

system specs?
is she running any add in programs with excel or word? Adobe Elements\reader\acrobat?
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 03:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

could be a program conflict, try running in safe mode.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 06:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

you might not have a legit version of office. ms will locked it if you try to upgrade it and it isn't legit
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 07:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 248
Send a message via ICQ to shuaibao Send a message via AIM to shuaibao Send a message via Yahoo to shuaibao
Default

Agree. Probably isn't. If it isn't just reinstall or get openoffice
__________________
I have ADD that stands for Attention Defecit hey look a birdie!

<a href=\"http://www.shuaiking.org/\">www.shuaiking.org: my blog</a>
shuaibao is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 11:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to Halchka99 Send a message via Yahoo to Halchka99
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
you might not have a legit version of office. ms will locked it if you try to upgrade it and it isn't legit

I will get more info today at work.

Do you mean updating it?

She had office xp and i did a clean uninstall and put on office 03.
Halchka99 is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 11:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

any addins? I know of several problems that can cause this, I just need more information on what you have installed there.
Inaris is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 11:21 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to Halchka99 Send a message via Yahoo to Halchka99
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Inaris
any addins? I know of several problems that can cause this, I just need more information on what you have installed there.
all ive given her is office 03, i will find out today what add ins she has.

Anything specific i should look for, or that you know could cause these issues?
Halchka99 is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 11:27 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

I just did a 2500 client deployment of Office 2003. There are a few problems that came up with some apps. The Adobe applications I mentioned above all have weird issues.
Crystallball (scenario modeling) is another, as well as PIProcessBook.

Good luck
Inaris is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 12:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to Halchka99 Send a message via Yahoo to Halchka99
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Inaris
system specs?
is she running any add in programs with excel or word? Adobe Elements\reader\acrobat?
okay shes running acrobat 5.0
No office plugs ins.
__________________

Halchka99 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.