computer wont turn on - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2007, 01:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 95
Default computer wont turn on

I need help.. i have a computer that turns on to a black screen that gives me the following options on how to turn on the computer:

safe mode
safe w/ networking
safe w/ command prompt
last known good configuration
start windows normally

No matter which one i choose it will load to the windows splash loading screen and go back to this black screen with options.

I think it's a virus. Also the computer never came with one of those recovery disks.

It tried going to F8 when it is loading from one of those options i chose and it would give me an advanced options menu with options:

enable boot logging
enable vga made
directory services restore
debugging

All of those don't work either.

I switched out the harddrive and put another one into that computer and it does not seem to be an issue with other hardware. So there should be a problem with the harddrive and some virus probably.

That's as far as my knowledge goes as to what to do. I would appreciate if anyone can give me any advice. Thanks in advance.
__________________

unbornzodiac is offline  
Old 02-12-2007, 08:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

sounds like you need to repair your os.

you'd need to boot to an Windows install cd (2k/xp matching the os on the HD). start a fresh install. it will search for existing OS's. repair the os found on your HD. You'll prolly need a cd key as well. this can sometimes be found on the computer case.

you should run windows update after performing these actions.
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 02-12-2007, 09:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 95
Default

is this what i need?

http://www.windowsxphome.windowsrein...exfullpage.htm

i have xp and not sure which service pack, i think sp1. all the files will still be there right?

i also don't think i have a windows xp disk though. i might be able to get one from a buddy of mine. will the cdkey on the computer work with that disk. i think there is a cdkey on the computer, i just have to find it. there should be one, right?

thanks.
unbornzodiac is offline  
Old 02-12-2007, 09:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 95
Default

sorry for the double post. found the sticker on the side of the comp with the key.

My buddy only has xp pro and my computer has xp home. Will the same process in that link to reinstall work if i upgrade it to pro? Will all the files still be kept? Does it matter if i use the key on that xp pro install disk?
unbornzodiac is offline  
Old 02-12-2007, 09:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

all user data will be preserved after a repair or upgrade.`

dont try to repair a home installation with a pro disk

if you upgrade to pro, you'll need a pro key

you can use www.magicaljellybean.com to find your windows cd key
office politics is offline  
Old 02-12-2007, 09:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 95
Default

so repairing with a xp pro disk will not work on a xp home computer?

i dont have an xp home disk and my buddy says the xp pro cd key will work on multiple computers to upgrade.
unbornzodiac is offline  
Old 02-12-2007, 10:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

i suggest you upgrade to pro

there's a hack to avoid activation. the mods prolly dont want me to post it here tho. www.yahoo.com
office politics is offline  
Old 02-18-2007, 05:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 95
Default

i decided to try this recovery method.
http://www.community.windowsreinstal...p?showtopic=35

the computer is an HP with xp home.

now i past that blue menu and reached a point where it is the windows xp loading splash screen. there is no loading bar but instead it says "please wait..."

it was on that screen for a very long time and now a window popped up and says "the file c_20127.nls on windows xp home edition cd rom is needed, type the file path where it is located and click ok."

what do i do now? i hope this thing i'm doing is correct because i don't want to lose any of the files the comp already had.
unbornzodiac is offline  
Old 02-18-2007, 05:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 95
Default

sorry for double post...

but i wish i found this info earlier..
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/329450

which lead me to download this:
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/g...item=pv-9155-1

i installed the patch on a floppy. the messed up computer is currently on the windows loading splash screen saying "please wait..." and is taking awfully long. my question is if i should somehow cancel the current recovery and try to install the patch before recovering or try to wait another hour to see if it leaves this screen? thanks.
unbornzodiac is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 12:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
fixal0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 246
Default

this error occurred at work when we ran the latest microsoft optional updates
selecting 'last known good' is the way we reverted, and from there we just bypassed the malicious update (it was a chipset update)
__________________

__________________
Case:NZXT Trinity Silver PSU:Apevia Aspire 500W UV Green Motherboard:Asus A8N-SLI CPU:AMD Athlon 64 3500 CPU Cooler:Zalman CNPS7700-Cu Video:2x eVga nVidia GeForce 6800XT (256MB DDR) RAM:2Gig (4x512 Corsair TwinX dual channel) HDD:160Gig Seagate Barracuda SATA, 200Gig Maxtor SATA III CD/DVD:LG DVD ROM, NEC 16XDVD+-RW
(\__/) This is Bunny. Put him in your
(='.'=) signature and help him on his way
(")_(") to world domination
fixal0t is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.