computer wont start up????? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2006, 01:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 127
Default computer wont start up?????

my bro's computer is not working, he did a system restore because his frames ps werent very good on counter ss, and it began to do it, turned off and didnt restart, when turns it on it begins to start up then says something like windows did not start up successfuly, and gives me the options to start in safe, run with last known best settings or start windows normally, it turns on in safe mode but wont do anything in sytem restore, when in runs in normal or best known settings it just has a blank screen and restarts,what has he done and what do we do? thanks for any help??????
__________________

Liam amd.64 is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 01:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

you can just preform a repair using the windows xp cd.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 01:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 127
Default

it was media centre he got with his computer tho, sorry i didnt say???
Liam amd.64 is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 01:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

eather way do you have the cd you can preform a repair
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 01:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 127
Default

didnt get a cd with the computer!
Liam amd.64 is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 01:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

you can call the manufacturer of the computer and see if they can give you one.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 01:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 127
Default

acer, i have got a copy of windows xp disc, i didnt get it with this computer tho!?
Liam amd.64 is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 01:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

is it the media center cd?
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 01:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

also press f8 at boot go get into advanced booting options and click enable boot logging then view the Ntbtlog.txt in the windows root folder to see if any drivers are failing it will usually be the last entry.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 02:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 127
Default

if it was one of the drivers would i reinstall the drivers for it in safe mode and then would it run?
__________________

Liam amd.64 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.