Computer won't boot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-08-2004, 11:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
Angry Computer won't boot

Hi,

I installed some software to burn CDs, it asked me to reboot and I did. After rebooting the computer will not get past the Gateway screen.

I have a Gateway running XP.


I am not sure if it is a HW or SW problem, I have been checking the power supply, that seems to be find and the memory looks to be OK.

I cannot get the machine to go into configuration mode.
Any more suggestions.

I cannot get it to boot from the floppy or CD.

Thank you for any guidelines on what to try.

Jim
__________________

jimbob4334 is offline  
Old 09-08-2004, 11:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,364
Send a message via AIM to shan
Default

what software did you install?
__________________

__________________
<center><h2><font color=\"red\">C:\\ Is the root of all evil</font></h2>
<hr width=\"50%\">
phiber@sysdum.com
spam this account, it's fun.
shan is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 09:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
Default

I installed RoxioPlayer

I can't get far enough in the boot sequence to get into safemode.

The computer does not give any beeps. I was able to get it to beep if I removed the memory.
jimbob4334 is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 09:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jimbob4334

The computer does not give any beeps. I was able to get it to beep if I removed the memory.

haha..do you like beeps or what?
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 09:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
Default

By forcing the beeps, I was confirming that the speaker was hooked up and I would hear the beeps and was not missing them.
jimbob4334 is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 09:54 AM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

ok..
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 10:57 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

can you go into your system bios and make changes? How far into the boot process can you get?
HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 11:44 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
Default

I get to the part of the boot process where the gateway screen comes up. I was able to not show that and show the more typical bootup screen by holding down the esc key during boot, but it was too fast to read what the screen said. It does nothing after the initial boot screen - no beeps either.

I tried getting into the bios but I am not sure I was pressing the right key. A little research indicates that I probably need F1, F2, esc or ctrl-esc.

I will try that tonight.
jimbob4334 is offline  
Old 09-10-2004, 10:12 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
Default

I determined that you push F1 to cause the computer to go into Setup, it did not work. So it is not getting far enough in the boot process to allow me to get into setup.

I assume that means the bios is messed up?

Jim
jimbob4334 is offline  
Old 09-10-2004, 09:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

open the case and set the jumper for clearing nvram. it'll say either 'clear NVRAM' or 'reset' or 'reset configuration data'
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.