Computer w/o OS.....Help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2004, 02:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2
Default Computer w/o OS.....Help!

Let me preface this by saying that I'm very naive about all this.

I bought a used Compaq 733mhz 128mb RAM 10ghz hard drive off of Ebay and was advertized w/ no OS.
So I hooked up the k/b, mouse and monitor and turned it on. First the red "COMPAQ"
logo comes then the Windows 98 thing comes up, then C:\>_ comes up. I type in "dir"
and get:
Command Com 93k
Config Sys 136
Oakcdrom Sys 41K
Extract Exe 93K
Himen Sys 33K
Mscdex Exe 25K
Autoexec Bat 48
7 Files 287K 9,528MB Free
So this tells me that this is all thats on the C drive. So what do I do next?
I had hoped to install ME from a restore disk , but I can see that isn't going to
happen. I was planning on using this computer just to store pics and mp3's and with no
internet access.
Should I just buy Windows 98 software somewhere or some other OS and install that?
I'm assuming that's all I have to do. I went to Wally-World and they had nothing.
The clerk told me they were sold out of XP and that's all they carry. Could I
borrow a Win98 disk from a friend and install that? Or did I get stuck with a
$100 machine that may end up to be a boat anchor? Is it totally worthless?

Any help or suggestions will be greatly appreciated. Thanks. Peter

woodbutcher is offline  
Old 01-24-2004, 03:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937

OS means operating system. any windows operating system will work. win98 will both work on that machine, i would not spend the extra money for winXP for that old computer.

what you currently have on that computer is DOS. an operating system from the past, but generally useless to you. you did get a great deal on that machine.

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 01-24-2004, 04:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 129
Send a message via Yahoo to param4u

I would suggest Win98 for the configuration - don't invest in win xp and don't even try win ME (It sucks)...
param4u is offline  
Old 01-25-2004, 04:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
kboy's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041

Go with Win98 & Keep your fingers crossed.
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX

1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.