Computer shutting down after 25 minutes of idle - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-24-2004, 11:09 PM   #21 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 241
Default Really Now

Quote:
Originally posted by preet2u
Disable ur USB in the bios n' see if it still happens
Thats awfull advice.Lets make this system better not worse.
Not everyone knows how to make bios changes.
:amazed:
__________________

stan-the-man is offline  
Old 02-24-2004, 11:15 PM   #22 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 29
Default

Yeah, well it seems like we've tried everything but the stupid thing is still shutting down.
__________________

hm629 is offline  
Old 02-24-2004, 11:46 PM   #23 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 241
Default Not so good

Quote:
Originally posted by hm629
I haven't downloaded any screensavers that are 3D accelerated. My screensavers are pretty much the default XP ones.

Temperatures (from BIOS):
CPU Temp: 56 Deg C
System Temp : 27 Deg C
CPU Fan Speed = 2445 RPM (only 1 installed)

Now for startec, the first three devices listed are:
-Computer
-Disk Drives
-Display adapters

How can uninstalling them fix the problem? Not trying to be picky, but those entries look important.
======
It won't .take of the case sides "now"
It's an AMD right ? If it's overclocked,buy a freezer.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg y.jpg (19.3 KB, 25 views)
stan-the-man is offline  
Old 02-25-2004, 11:13 AM   #24 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

Stan .. don't just post msg's for the sake of posting 'em.. Make some sense for once ...

He 's already taken the side panels out .. his temp's are like 47°-48°C ..
atleast read the thread b4 posting.
N' also if he didn't know how to enter the bios ..he would've posted it ..n' someone would have told him how ...

hm629 ..u didn't tell me if u tried disabling the usb in the bios ...
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 02-25-2004, 11:30 AM   #25 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 29
Default

OK, here's the update. Computer is still shutting down after idle. I downloaded a program that can detect my comp temp without going to BIOS and as of now, the temps are:

Board Temperature: 45 C / 113 F
CPU Temperature: 28 C / 82.4 F
Fan speed: 2220 rpm

Those temps look alright to me, so not sure if it's still the overheating issue.

I didn't try to disable the USB cuz I wasn't sure how. But when I checked in the Device Manager, it showed 2 USB controllers with a yellow question mark sign. I disabled both of those instead.
hm629 is offline  
Old 02-25-2004, 11:37 AM   #26 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

Now that was a useful update ... Since they are highlighted in yellow ..it means they have a problem

Anywayz ..since disableing them in windows hasn't helped ..i suggest u do it in the bios itself ..
Typically ..u need to hit the DEL key right after u just start up the machine... Then in the bios find the USB option n' disable it.

If u still can't figure it out .....post the make/model of ur mobo n' i'll tell u in detail how to do it.
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 02-25-2004, 11:38 AM   #27 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

Also ..i'm not sure if the mobo temp is a bit high or not .. Once again...post ur mobo make / model

Anyone else ..any idea's on his mobo temps ??
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 02-25-2004, 01:46 PM   #28 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 29
Default

OK,

I couldn't exactly find the make of the mobo, but the model is SiS-648. I think the make is Syntax (cuz that's whats displayed on the first screen every time I reboot/start my computer).

Oh yeah, I recently reformatted my C: (about a week ago) and did not go through the installation for my mobo. My friend yesterday asked me virtually the same question (the manufacturer, etc.) but I was unable to find it. I do, however, have the CD for my motherboard. Am I required to install my mobo again (using the CD) because I thought the computer would automatically detect and install it?
hm629 is offline  
Old 02-25-2004, 02:14 PM   #29 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

Yes u will need to install the drivers for some of the devices from ur mobo CD...
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 02-25-2004, 04:16 PM   #30 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

i only read the original question, skipped reading the replies. hm629 it sounds to me like there is something wrong with power management. instead of standby it shuts down. the reason i think this is because you said you upgraded to winXP.

to me this sounds like you have a very old computer with no advanced power management ACPI or your video card drivers are generic so the ACPI features are missing.

i do not think you have a virus or that your power supply is not supplying enough power to your computer. since video card is old i assume you may not be able to find drivers for it on winXP. i beleive there may be little you can do other than to set these to "never" or "after 5 hours". see attached image:
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.