Computer shutting down after 25 minutes of idle - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2004, 07:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 29
Default Computer shutting down after 25 minutes of idle

Hi,

I have a problem with my computer. It shuts down every time there's a 25 minutes of idle. It doesn't go through the Shut Down procedure, it just shuts down as if someone pulls out the plug out of the power jack. It's been doing this ever since I upgraded to XP. What I can't understand is that when my computer is not in idle (when I'm using it), it doesn't shut down. So therefore I don't think there's a problem with my fan or power supply. I have also just recently reformatted my hard drive, so if there's any virus/trojans, it should have been wiped out (not to mention I've already run my Norton AntiVirus a few times that didn't find any infection). One thing I can also mention is when I run a Spybot check, after about halfway through, it shuts down my computer yet again. It's just been confusing and I have no clue what's causing it. Any help would be appreciated.

I'm running a 2.66GHz, 512MB RAM, 45GB HD, Windows XP Professional.

Thanks!
__________________

hm629 is offline  
Old 02-22-2004, 10:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 241
Default Check this

I don't have XP but check your Control Panel/Power options.
I set all mine to "never"
This should do it.please reply.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg msofficebarscrewed.jpg (19.6 KB, 39 views)
__________________

stan-the-man is offline  
Old 02-22-2004, 10:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 29
Default

That's actually one of the things I checked (unfortunately, they're all set to "Never"). Thanks though! I still kinda think it's some spyware I somehow got to my computer. I'll try running both Adaware and Spybot again.
hm629 is offline  
Old 02-22-2004, 10:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 241
Lightbulb screen saver option

Set one for 20 min.
stan-the-man is offline  
Old 02-22-2004, 10:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 29
Default

Meh, what the heck, I'll try that :P I'll try anything!

I just ran Adaware and it found 9 things that I quickly removed from my computer. Then, I ran Spybot and my computer shut down again. Sooo confusing!! Maybe spybot is causing it? But how can a program that's not even running do wonders like that?
hm629 is offline  
Old 02-22-2004, 10:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 241
Default Heres what i do

I use Cookie Jar
I empty my inet temp folder everytime i close.
Have you done a virus check ?
Heres a free one.
http://housecall.trendmicro.com/hous...start_corp.asp
stan-the-man is offline  
Old 02-23-2004, 11:08 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 29
Default

Yep, did a virus check, nothing was caught

Deleted all cookies in my temp folder and it's still shutting down :'(

Now I'm starting to think maybe I should install another OS (Win 98SE?) in my partitioned drive and just run that instead of XP...
hm629 is offline  
Old 02-23-2004, 02:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

Just before that .. what are ur system temperatures like ?

Though it shouldn't happen when system is idle .. Just to make sure it's not an heat issue ...check the temps out
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 02-23-2004, 02:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

Just another thing ..have u installed any screensavers which are basically hardware accelarated(3d ones)
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 02-23-2004, 02:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 33
Default

please try the following steps
-go to the system properties-devicemgr
-go to the view at the top
choose the option-show hidden devices
-click on system devices
-uninstall the 1st three devices
-would ask u to reboot
-may fix the problem
__________________

startec is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.