Computer Saying Windows Has Become Unstable - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-28-2004, 05:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3
Default Computer Saying Windows Has Become Unstable

Hi, recently my computer has started to say that is is busy or has become unstable alot. It occours mosly when I try to start up games or when i try to play music. What could be wrong? Thanks.
__________________

Dart340 is offline  
Old 01-28-2004, 05:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to anarchy
Default

Could be your computer can't handle all the things you are doing at once...Are you multi-tasking? Helpful if you'd give some specs..(Proccessor, RAM, Video Card, etc)...Thanks
__________________

__________________


Search TF!
<form method=\"get\" action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form></small></font></p></p>
anarchy is offline  
Old 01-28-2004, 05:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
ADZ
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ
Default

Make sure your protected from viruses and also make sure your OS has all the latest windows updates.
ADZ is offline  
Old 01-29-2004, 03:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 204
Default

Also it would be a great help if u post the exact message it gives.
__________________
One disk to rule them all,
One disk to bind them,
One disk to hold the files
And in the darkness grind \'em.
maverick_teck is offline  
Old 01-29-2004, 11:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3
Default

Its a HP Kayak PII 300 overclocked to 450. 128 ram 16 mb TNT2 integrated sound card. It never did this before untill i tried to install a sound card. I took it out and put the setting back to normal. A blue screen comes up and says that Windows is busy or has became unstable.
Dart340 is offline  
Old 01-29-2004, 10:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 204
Default

Windoze has become unstable is kinda like this page left blank...
You can't do that... it is unstable to start with...

anyway, back to the problem... Have you tried booting into safemode and making sure that the soundcard doesnt show up there? What version of windows, what soundcard did you try to install?
__________________

gruntwerk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.