computer restarting - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-16-2005, 03:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 95
Send a message via AIM to z3r0gr4v1ty
Default computer restarting

got a small issue not sure if something is pissin with my powerbar ie small power surges or animals or what but has anyone ever had an issue where ur computer would hard boot for no real reason i've never been able to see if an error comes up or what b/c it only happens when my computer is idling but almost everytime i come back it's restarted and i know it's hardbooted b/c my desktop is gone and it asked me to push the button and crap to get my background back anyone have any similar problems or anything? i've also scanned my computer for virus' and it didn't find any
__________________

__________________
Specs:
POWMAX CP0327PL-4 - Case
AMD Duron 1.8ghz 266fsb - CPU
Syntax SV266AD Socket A - Mobo
512MB PC2100 - RAM
PNY Geforce 4 440mx SE - GPU
Windows 2000 SP4 - OS
Logitech 2 button optical scroll mouse
MicroInnovations Web/Office Keyboard
Motorola IMfree - Wireless Aim
z3r0gr4v1ty is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 04:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Spork 2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 219
Default

A lot of the time when a computer restarts at random, its usually due to an overheating problem. Also, check to make sure you don't have a massive amount of rpograms running in the background that might cause a system crash.

Try using this to determine if its an overheating problem or not:

http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/fil...id,7309,00.asp
__________________

Spork 2.0 is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 05:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Right click my computer>>properties>>advanced>>startup and recovery>>disable automatic restart. If it blue screens then post the error. If it just reboots without one I would look into the heat issue.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 05:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Have a look at my Random Reboot Guide at the top of the Troubleshooting Area in the Hardware Section.

That should give you a good idea as to what is going on

If you still have questions, or have found the problem, post back!
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 11:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 95
Send a message via AIM to z3r0gr4v1ty
Default

hmm shouldn't be an overheating issue i have six fans in the sucker and this has never been an issue b4 i mean it could be heat but.. why could it make it through the dog days of summer with no problem and now that it's getting cooler out... ? lol
__________________
Specs:
POWMAX CP0327PL-4 - Case
AMD Duron 1.8ghz 266fsb - CPU
Syntax SV266AD Socket A - Mobo
512MB PC2100 - RAM
PNY Geforce 4 440mx SE - GPU
Windows 2000 SP4 - OS
Logitech 2 button optical scroll mouse
MicroInnovations Web/Office Keyboard
Motorola IMfree - Wireless Aim
z3r0gr4v1ty is offline  
Old 09-22-2005, 02:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 656
Default

Im having a similar problem. Check it out http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=71197
dnoch is offline  
Old 09-22-2005, 02:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 42
Default

download a freeware motherboard monitoring program, and monitor the heat on your motherboard. Then do a little research and see what temp your processor is rated to run at.
__________________
Windows Vista Ultimate
Koolance Case
ASUS PCDL Motherboard
Dual Thermaltake Aquarius III
Dual Xeons 3.06 oc\'d to 3.38
2GB Kingston Hyper X
2 120gb HDD
geforce 5200 256
Dual Monitors
Dual DVD burners
pinkfloyd2005 is offline  
Old 09-22-2005, 02:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

donwload memtest86 and check your ram. sometime if the computer head to a bad address on the ram it will do that.
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.