Computer Reformat problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-2004, 03:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 42
Default Computer Reformat problem

I have had this computer for a few years now and have reformated it 2 times i have the process down perfectly but recently i recieved quite a bit of spyware viruses and adware on it,

so anyways
1)Is it possible for a virus to disable both windows restore and my cd drive
2) since my cd drive no longer works, is it possible to get the drivers and reinstallation disks off another computer and run them somehow?

o and i am running a dell 2300 w/ p4 1.8 640 sd memory and windows xp sp1

Dell 2300
intel P4 1.8
640mb sddram memory
128mb pci 5200 vid card
crappy dell mobo w/ no agp slot !
Elite0ne04 is offline  
Old 10-29-2004, 04:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 276

Have you got a netowrk, if you have u can map the the network drives and hay presto all should be fine. If you dont then maybe shove the files on a floppy or a removable USB stick?

Windows Loaded .... System In Danger.

Keyboard Not Found .... Press F9 To Continue.
horris1st is offline  
Old 10-29-2004, 06:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 57

Have you run an anti-virus program? You can download one for free from the downloads section of this website - or my personal favourite - the Avast antivirus program.

Im sure it is possible for viruses to disable both of the things mentioned - but i doubt one would do both.

If i were you i would:

1) Run an antivirus program
2) Run an anti Adware program (adaware or spybot)
3) Back up you files with either a USB memory key or onto the network or if you have managed to get the anti virus to get the CDR drive working with that.
4) Make a win98 boot disk
5) Run Fdisk and format the drives
6) Reinstall windows
7) replace files

I wouldnt bother with system restore etc - its never worked for me and the only real way for you to be sure about a clean disk is to completely reformat it.

I hope i have got the right idea!! Let me know if you need any more info.
AMD 2500+, 512mb Mem, 160GB (2xSATA 80GB in RAID0 array), K7N2G-ILSR (using on-board graphics and sound (for the moment ;-) ))

How many windows \"errors\" can there be??!!!
CacheUK is offline  
Old 10-30-2004, 12:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes

I had problems with my dvd drive for no reason . It disappeared suddenly. But then I fixed it with the instructions given in this link.
Hope this helps for you reagarding the cd drive problem
intercodes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.