computer randomly shuts off - help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-09-2004, 08:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4
Default computer randomly shuts off - help

Every so often, maybe twice a day, my computer will shut down of its own accord. It doesn't restart, just shuts-down, and when I turn it back on I don't even get the scan-disk message.

The shut-down may occur when I am in the middle of doing something (grrr!), or when I am way across the room and have no programs running. There is never an error message.

All my drivers seem to be up to date, and all plugs are connected securely. I am running AVG anti-virus, I have Ad-Aware, and Search and Destroy.

I checked the system error messages in computer management, but I really have no idea what they mean. I seem to have quite a few though.

Today I got four system error 102s, and 1 w32time 36 error.

Yesterday was much worse, I can't even count the number of errors. They were: cdrom error #7 (lots), and service control errors #7023 and 7036. These errors occured multiple times in the same second!!

Any clue? This is driving me nuts!

Thanks,

Makyla
__________________

sketchymak is offline  
Old 10-09-2004, 09:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

check your temps in the bios, also check the voltages in the bios, make sure you psu is delivering constant voltages etc.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 10-09-2004, 10:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Check for viruses, run a virus scan.
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 10-09-2004, 11:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 422
Default

check your ram too
vance43211 is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 03:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4
Default

I disabled the automatic shutdown, and a few minutes ago I got a blue screen!

It said:

DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL

STOP: 0X000000D1 (OXBF97AE87, 0X000000FF, 0X00000000, 0XBF97AE87)

win32k.sys - Address BF97AE87, Base at BF800000, DateStamp 3b7de698





Scary!!

I have virus scanned, but I'm not sure how to check my memory.

When I restarted my computer the last time I got sent to the Microsoft site and they said it was a driver problem, but I haven't downloaded any new drivers.

Do I just uninstall all my drivers and re-download? How would I go about doing this?
sketchymak is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 03:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 422
Default

that is a Ram problem

give us your system profile too

my ram gave out the exact same codes when i ran it in dual channel mode

however it was fine in regular mode

also

did you change anything in your bios that's related to ram?

sometime that will lock up your computer when it read certain part of the ram, which that is what that code is saying, that there is an error when reading certain part of your ram
vance43211 is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 03:43 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4
Default

System Manufacturer
System Model: System Name
BIOS Version: Award Software, Inc. ASUS P4S333-M ACPI BIOS Revision 1006

Memory (RAM)
Capacity: 512 MB

Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 1.80GHz
Version: x86 Family 15 Model 2 Stepping 4
Speed: 1816 MHz

Total Capacity: 75.55 GB
Sum of Hard Disks: (C: D: )
Used: 45.26 GB

Free: 30.28 GB

Video Card
Model: RADEON 9200 SERIES
Driver: ati2mtag.sys
August 25, 2004
Supported

Video Card
Model: RADEON 9200 SERIES - Secondary
Driver: ati2mtag.sys
August 25, 2004
Support

Sound Card
Manufacturer: Silicon Integrated Systems Corp.(1.11.02)
Model: SiS 7012 Audio Driver
Driver: sis7012.sys
September 7, 2004
Supported

Network Card
Model: SiS 900-Based PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter - Packet Scheduler Miniport
Driver: sisnic.sys
August 30, 2004
Supported

Local Disk (non-partitioned) Maxtor 6E040L0

(D Capacity - 38.29 GB
Used: 23.65 GB
Free: 14.63 GB

Local Disk (non-partitioned) WDC WD400BB-00CFC0

(C Capacity - 37.26 GB
Used: 21.61 GB
Free: 15.64 GB



Is this what you need?

I had someone come and install more RAM about a month ago, problems started then, but are getting worse. I just added another 256 to get to 512.

Should I call him and tell him to fix things up? I'm kinda nervous to do that if he was the one who screwed things to begin with.
sketchymak is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 02:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 422
Default

load your bios setup defaults and see if it will go away.

sometimes enabling things to speed up your computer like caching your bios or video ram will cause a system error if a program tries to write to a certain area of your ram

also ask him is the ram running in dual channel mode? if so, put it in regular mode

if neither of these fix the problem, the ram module itself is faulty. i have bought a brand new bad ram chip before.
vance43211 is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 03:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4
Default

I got memtest and it found no faults with the ram.

This is from the windows site: "Stop 0xD1 messages can occur after installing faulty drivers or system services."

So how can I find out which driver is doing this?

Do I uninstall them all?

I could start in safe mode, but it shuts down randomly, sometimes it won't shut down for a couple of days, and I don't want to leave it in safe mode for that long.
sketchymak is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 04:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

sketchymak remove all RAM sticks except 1 and test each one for a few days. If windows crashes take out that RAM and test with the other stick alone. You should be able to figure out which RAM stick is faulty.
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.