Computer randomly freezes/reboots - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2004, 11:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to brandenh
Default Computer randomly freezes/reboots

I have a computer I built, it has...

AMD Athlon 1.4ghz (Non XP)
ECS Motherboard
512MB PC133 SDRAM
Radeon 9600 Pro
Western Digital 120GB Special Edition
Generic Firewire Card
Generic CD Burner (Cendyne)

I just replaced the hard drive, video card, cd burner, and firewire card with the things listed above. I had this problem before with an Optical mouse from Microsoft, but I replaced it and it worked fine, but then when I added this new hardware it started doing it again. I now have a standard 2 button microsoft mouse (old). I was told it could be the memory, but I had this memory with the old hardware as well. Can anyone shed any light on this? I'm running Windows XP Home edition.
__________________

brandenh is offline  
Old 01-09-2004, 11:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
ADZ
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ
Default

Do you have an antivirus software?

Try an online virus scan, but then again, if u replaced the HDD then you mustve re-installed the OS right? So disregard wat I just said. Hmm.
__________________

ADZ is offline  
Old 01-09-2004, 01:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 247
Default

what model ECS board do you have.
__________________
Tech4hire

i am no lazier now than I was forty years ago, but that is because I reached the limit forty years ago. You can\'t go beyond possibility.
- Mark Twain
tech4hire is offline  
Old 01-09-2004, 10:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 28
Default

it sounds like a worm blaster bug. look for removing tool at symantec website.
Jetta-GT- is offline  
Old 01-12-2004, 07:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 73
Default

Have you tried to download the latest driver for the mouse. You may want to try that. You also might want to scan your hdd with AVG and see how that works for you.
mitschej is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.