Computer problem after power outrage - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-24-2005, 02:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
Default Computer problem after power outrage

Hello, I'm new here . I hope I posted this in the correct section, if not, please move it, thanks.

I was running a program (WC3) that takes up a lot of my CPU usage, around ~45% at least, when there was a sudden power outrage in my area.

After the outrage, my comp would make a "click" sound once in a while. After the click sound, the comp freezes until the second "click" comes, which is usually 2-3 seconds after the first click. The click is coming from the computer itself and not the speakers. I'm still able to run all my programs ok, except for these click-freezes. They occur about once every 10-15 mins. Sometimes two sets of clicks occur in a 10 second period.

I've uninstalled WC3 since then (a file was corrupt).

I ran ScanDisk and it did some repairs. I also ran some antiviruses and everything's clean. The problem still remains though.

I really have no idea what the problem is and what to do next.

Thanks in advance.

soulberry is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 10:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
KSoD's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647

It might be a hardware problem. Some power outages are know to cause issues due to the fact that it causes sudden surges to the PC right before it happens. This could have happened to you. What else were you running on the PC at the time of the outage? Are you on dial-up, dsl, or cable?

I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 02:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4

Hi, thanks for the reply! I was also running MSN and maybe bittorrent as well. I'm on Cable.

Is there a hardware checking program that I can run?
soulberry is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 02:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932

Sounds like something got a little toasted. First thing I'd do, right now, is backup everything. That sound is most-likely yer HDD having a problem.

Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 02:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 398

that's what i was about to say. it's most likely a HDD issue. your drive is dying or partially dead and i suggest you backup your personal data soon before you perform the following.

to see if you can recover your hdd, go to your drive's manufacturer's site and download a tool program which will allow you to do some error checking on your drive and tell you its status. that same tool might be able to fix those issues. read manuals and follow instructions carefully! a low-lvel format using this tools might help but i doubt it.

also check with your manufacturer if the wrranty is still valid and do the easy thing: get a replacement. i've had to do that with my WD drives 3 times without them asking questions.

hope i helped.

kostas is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 02:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861

sound like your hard drive is about to die. by a new and tranfer your files.
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 10-24-2005, 03:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Field Engineer
SHAWN's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN

Invest in a UPS to prevent this from happening ever again.
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 10-25-2005, 12:16 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4

Thanks guys. I was hoping it could be rescued without being replaced, but no such luck I suppose. Oh well, at least I'll be able to convince my parents to buy me a faster one.

soulberry is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.