Computer problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-15-2005, 12:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8
Default Computer problem

My DVD drive and DVD burner doesn't read my games but able to read my music cd. I able to burn dvd and cd's. It's takes over 100 hrs to copy starcraft cd to my harddrive
__________________

myang080 is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 12:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 324
Default

Yeah. That is a long time to burn to disk. Did you have an actual question, or are you just making statements?
__________________

sunsider is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 03:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

i think hes wondering why his drive takes so long, and only sometimes works.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 06:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8
Default

I was wondering why it's taking so long. It wasn't like this before. I'm running a MSI K8T, AMD 64bit 3000, 512mb kingston DDR PC2700. Anyone have any idea to fix this problem
myang080 is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 08:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 151
Default

When did you first notice the problem and have you installed any software or anything since ?

Also have you tried completely uninstalling and re-installing the burning software ?
__________________
Be not afraid of growing slowly, be afraid only of standing still - Knowledge will get you somewhere, stupidity will get you nowhere
Catbert is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 09:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

is your harddrive build with ur system?
__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 02:50 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8
Default

I have no problem burning anything. My both drivers are able to read and load Windows XP Pro CD, Norton Systemworks 2005, Movies, Music, back data, mp3, Microsoft Office 2003 and Adobe Photoshop and Adobe Illus. So far it's not able to read and load, Doom 3, Command and Conquer General, Shogun Total War, Star War, Command Conquer Renegade, Warcraft 3 and Aliens vs predator 2. Those games are installed in my computer and it's not able to load or use the auto-run. I really don't want to wait from 100 -300 hrs to play a game.
Anyhow my primary hard is 160g Maxtor and 2nd hard is a 120g WD.
myang080 is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 02:55 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8
Default

I install Windows XP Pro about 9 months ago. It start to have this load problem about 3 weeks. spybot S&D and Microsoft Anti Spyware those are the programs I install last. I had install about 4 weeks ago. I haven't uninstall the nero program but do you really think this cause the problem
myang080 is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 07:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

uninstall your ide cable driver and your roms and burner drivers. reboot the computer. it will put the ide driver back in DMA mode (it probably in pio mode now)

http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...ht=dma+enabled
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 03:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Try using a different burner. Don't buy one, just ask a friend if they have one. My guess is that maybe your IDE cables aren't properly fitted.
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.