Computer gets blue screen over and over!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2006, 06:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to SkiSki17
Exclamation Computer gets blue screen over and over!!

My computer is a relatively new machine have had it maybe a year. Have had no probs till now. The machine starts to load windows then gets the blue screen for half a second then restarts itself over and over again. It wont even boot in safe mode. I do not have the recovery disk. I have no idea how to correct this problem. I am up to any suggestions. I thought maybe there is a way to create a boot disk to somehow fix the errors. But I have no clue. Any and all help is appreciated. thnx in advance!!
__________________

SkiSki17 is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 06:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default

Hello,

When the blue screen appears, are you presented with an error code, driver or message of some kind?

Also, is your OS Windows XP?
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 07:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to SkiSki17
Default

the screen doesnt even stay up long enough to see the error message and yes it is Windows Xp!
SkiSki17 is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 01:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9
Default

i have same problem and i have lots of info on laptop whats a good solution
cesarin is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 02:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

Alright. First thing I would do is remove any unnecessary hardware devices (internally and externally). Internally, remove any PCI cards inside the PC, but keep your graphics card in if your using once . Externally, remove all devices connected to the PC apart from your keyboard and monitor.

Boot the PC and if the problem occurs again, then power off the PC, and clear the BIOS CMOS by removing the lithium battery from the motherboard for a minute or two, then placing it back. Power up the PC again and see what happens.

Failing that, the next thing I would do is to check the hard drive for any errors. You'll need a Windows XP Setup Disc for this. Place it in the drive. Power up the PC, and go into the BIOS settings. Make sure that your CD-ROM drive is set as the primary boot device. Save any changes made in BIOS settings, then restart the PC...

...Then, when prompted to, press any key on the keyboard to boot into the CD. Once loaded, select to enter into the Recovery Console. Log into the Windows partition, then at command prompt, type chkdsk x: /r where x: is the drive with Windows installed.

If you don't know the drive letter, it should be displayed at the top of the screen as x:\Windows\ as the logon partition.

Failing that...post back .
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 02:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9
Default

thanx.....would this apply to a laptop as well
cesarin is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 02:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cesarin
thanx.....would this apply to a laptop as well
Yep if it has XP installed. Do you see a particular error code, description or a driver name when the blue screen appears?

Also just to make sure, can you access safe mode? And have you made any particular changes to the system recently (like installed new hardware or software)?
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 02:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9
Default

no new hardware or softare....yes it has xp..its a gateway laptop..no i can't acces none of the safe mode options...it will reboot and im taling its up for about one second and boom restarts and it will just loop and keepo doing the same thing..And i tried to do repair install but it wouldnt let me
__________________

cesarin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.