Computer Freezes on Startup. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2005, 06:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1
Default Computer Freezes on Startup.

I have a problem.
When I boot up the computer, it takes me to the log in screen as usual, but when i try to load in, the screen freezes and i cant do anything accept press the reset button, sometimes however it loads up for about 5 minutes.

However I can still get into safe mode.

At first I thought it was nothing and just a regular crash, but i tried restarting several times but to no avail.

I tried system restoring to january 6th and the problem was still occuring.

So i decided to go to an earlier version of my computer which was created by norton ghost, but the problem was still occuring.

I tried removing all non essential hardware and swapping the graphics card but still nothing is working.

My PC specs are:-
Pentium 4 3.2 GHZ
1GB DDR 400 Ram
ABIT 256 MB Graphics Card
300GB HDD

and the operating system is Windows XP Professional with service pack 2.

Please HELP!
__________________

Lloyd144 is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 07:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 266
Send a message via AIM to VICone Send a message via Yahoo to VICone
Default

The fans working on the processor right?
__________________

__________________
MCSA, MCP (070-210, 070-218, 070-215), A+, Network+, Security+<br>
<a href=\"http://profiles.myspace.com/users/17229411\" target=\"_blank\">MySpace</a> | <a href=\"http://mcmcse.com\" target=\"_blank\">MCMCSE</a> | <a href=\"http://brainbench.com\" target=\"_blank\">Brainbench : Free Certifications</a>
VICone is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 12:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 12
Default

Looks like the problem is with some computer hardware rather than XP. (As you have tried restoring from ghost image).

Boot into safe OS and open the device-manager and look for any warnings (! mark on devices).

Also you could scan the eventvwr for any errors.

--Vikas

P.S. Could be related to SP2, you never know
Vikas is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 01:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

try a fresh install with an xp cd. i would try that first so then you can def rule out a software issue
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 01-26-2005, 05:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 67
Default

Try this:

Boot into safemode, then reconfigure your security/anti-virus program to NOT boot on startup. Then try booting. It's always worth a try. (Maybe something else more recently loaded is causing a dll conflict, etc.) I'd also do a full virus/trojan scan and a full adware scan (try AdAware or whatever you have).
HeddaLora is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.