Computer freezes and black outs due to certain programs and 'drag and drop' - Page 7 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2005, 01:14 AM   #61 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: San Jose, Cali
Posts: 38
Default

I never saw the blue screen for installing windows.... I saw something about oak technologies in the black screen that looks like dos prompt
__________________

spectemuragenda is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 01:16 AM   #62 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I think you have the windows 98 boot disk in, remember the floppy you made? take that out and then make sure in the bios it is set to boot from cd drive
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 01:17 AM   #63 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: San Jose, Cali
Posts: 38
Default

No, the boot disk I have in the CD drive now is the one with ISO file
spectemuragenda is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 01:19 AM   #64 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

you dont have a floppy in your floppy drive?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 01:28 AM   #65 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: San Jose, Cali
Posts: 38
Default

The file says something about being installed, and driver UBS not found, it said something initially about USB drivers not found, then it said dr dos:A:\

I didn't have a floppy in the drive at the time.
spectemuragenda is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 01:30 AM   #66 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Ok..I guess keep going untill you find the correct one..I had to do this and it sucked
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 01:58 AM   #67 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: San Jose, Cali
Posts: 38
Default

EDITEDITEDIT....


Corrected my mistake, i was trying to import from the second folder, I'll just continue this until I get the right file for the driver... thank you again for all of your help.
spectemuragenda is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 10:56 AM   #68 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Any luck?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 04:14 PM   #69 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: San Jose, Cali
Posts: 38
Default

no luck so far,

There are only two folders on the floppy, one folder is labeled PIDE and the other RAID. I have tried the subfolders in the each that are labeled WIndows XP, and another two from a folder that is labeled 2003 or something like that. There are also subfolders in each main folder labeled win98, and win NT that I haven't tried yet because I ran out of cds.

Right now i'm booting from the IDE hard drive and the RAID HD's aren't even connected but the problem remains.....

Is it possible that this is a hardware problem, possibly with my Processor?
spectemuragenda is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 12:04 PM   #70 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: San Jose, Cali
Posts: 38
Default

Ok, I finally figured out the problem.


After booting from the IDE drive I assumed that since the problem remained I needed to change something in and/or flash the BIOS, which I eventually did. The MOBO built-in overclocking feature was enabled and set to optimized but the while the CPU frequency was higher the CPU ratio was not altered which caused the discrepancy.

I appreciate all of your help, at least now I know how to use nLite for future references lol.

Just glad to get this resolved.
__________________

spectemuragenda is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.