Computer freezes and black outs due to certain programs and 'drag and drop' - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-18-2005, 08:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: San Jose, Cali
Posts: 38
Default Computer freezes and black outs due to certain programs and 'drag and drop'

Hello everyone,

I've just recently setup RAID 0 and now I appear to have a problem with drag and drop functions on my desktop and elsewhere. I have already viewed a drag and drop thread but now there is an additional problem thrown into the mix.

There are some programs that cause my computer to either freeze or simply black out the screen completely. Namely Ares, GiPomoveonboot, Final Fantasy XI and and a couple of others.

The oddest aspect of the drag and drop problem is that it only affects my computer when I drag something over the 'my computer' icon. If i remember correctly is has randomly happened at other times when I was moving something into the recycling bin. I have removed the 'my computer' desktop icon while working out this issue.

Also, i have another IDE hard drive that is extremely slow to load if it will load at all... I have disconnected it for the time being.

Any help with this problem would be well appreciated, thanks in advance guys!

Also I'd like to include that I just tried running in safemode and I didn't experience any of the problems mentinoed above.

EDIT: Here's a copy of the hijack report

Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
Scan saved at 8:12:20 PM, on 12/18/2005
Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\progra~1\mcafee\MCAFEE~1\masalert.exe
C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_06\bin\jusched.exe
C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\RUNDLL32.EXE
C:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\agent\mcagent.exe
C:\Program Files\iTunes\iTunesHelper.exe
C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
c:\progra~1\mcafee\mcafee antispyware\massrv.exe
c:\program files\mcafee.com\agent\mcdetect.exe
c:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\agent\mctskshd.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
C:\Program Files\iPod\bin\iPodService.exe
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
C:\DOCUME~1\Jrob\LOCALS~1\Temp\Temporary Directory 1 for hijackthis.zip\HijackThis.exe

O2 - BHO: SSVHelper Class - {761497BB-D6F0-462C-B6EB-D4DAF1D92D43} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_06\bin\ssv.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [_AntiSpyware] c:\progra~1\mcafee\MCAFEE~1\masalert.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SunJavaUpdateSched] C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_06\bin\jusched.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvMediaCenter] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvMcTray.dll,NvTaskbarInit
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NeroFilterCheck] C:\WINDOWS\system32\NeroCheck.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MCUpdateExe] C:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\agent\McUpdate.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MCAgentExe] c:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\agent\mcagent.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [iTunesHelper] "C:\Program Files\iTunes\iTunesHelper.exe"
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [MSMSGS] "C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe" /background
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_06\bin\ssv.dll
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_06\bin\ssv.dll
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O16 - DPF: {17492023-C23A-453E-A040-C7C580BBF700} (Windows Genuine Advantage Validation Tool) - http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=39204
O16 - DPF: {6414512B-B978-451D-A0D8-FCFDF33E833C} (WUWebControl Class) - http://update.microsoft.com/windowsu...?1134803081921
O16 - DPF: {6E5A37BF-FD42-463A-877C-4EB7002E68AE} (Housecall ActiveX 6.5) - http://us-housecall.trendmicro-europ...vex/hcImpl.cab
O23 - Service: InstallDriver Table Manager (IDriverT) - Macrovision Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\InstallShield\Driver\11\Intel 32\IDriverT.exe
O23 - Service: iPodService - Apple Computer, Inc. - C:\Program Files\iPod\bin\iPodService.exe
O23 - Service: McAfee AntiSpyware Service - McAfee, Inc. - c:\progra~1\mcafee\mcafee antispyware\massrv.exe
O23 - Service: McAfee WSC Integration (McDetect.exe) - McAfee, Inc - c:\program files\mcafee.com\agent\mcdetect.exe
O23 - Service: McAfee Task Scheduler (McTskshd.exe) - McAfee, Inc - c:\PROGRA~1\mcafee.com\agent\mctskshd.exe
O23 - Service: McAfee SecurityCenter Update Manager (mcupdmgr.exe) - McAfee, Inc - C:\PROGRA~1\McAfee.com\Agent\mcupdmgr.exe
O23 - Service: NVIDIA Display Driver Service (NVSvc) - NVIDIA Corporation - C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
__________________

spectemuragenda is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 08:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

is this a new installation?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 08:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: San Jose, Cali
Posts: 38
Default

The hard drives are a new installation. The IDE hard drive is was installed about a week prior to the RAID and I didn't experience these problems.

However, since then I attempted to boot with the IDE hard drive and experienced the same problem, using the the RAID as another storage drive, I didn't attempt to use the IDE HD alone. Hope this helps.
spectemuragenda is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 08:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

tell me how you setup the raid config.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 08:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

your log is fine.....
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 08:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: San Jose, Cali
Posts: 38
Default

I created a disk array using 2 80 gig HItachi drives in Raid 0, (i've tried altering the status from both HD's set to 'boot' and having the first and second HD's set to Stripe 0 and Stripe 1. The block size is set to 64k.

Windows began to set up normally after this, but the problems began immediately afterward.

Was there a step regarding the setup that I lfailed to mention?
spectemuragenda is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 08:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: San Jose, Cali
Posts: 38
Default

My system setup is AMD Venice 3000 1.8 cpu with a K8T800Pro Chipset MOBO, 1 gig of Ram from CompUSA and a stick of 512 Crucial memory. Also using an Nvidia 5900 ultra video card.

I have tested the computer w/o the stick of crucial memory to no avail, I may attempt to boot the computer using only the IDE Hard drive momentarily.
spectemuragenda is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 08:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

go to start, run, type msconfig, go to startup and see what is running....is everything checked?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 08:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: San Jose, Cali
Posts: 38
Default

In the BOOT.INI tab /safeboot, /noguiboot, /bootlog, /basevideo, and /sos are unchecked. All of the boxes are checked in the startup tab.

Earlier I attempted to restart the computer using Diagnostic Startup and Selective Startup in the general tab to isolate the problem but each option rendered the same result.
spectemuragenda is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 08:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

disable everything is the startup tab and reboot
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.