Computer Freezes - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-06-2005, 05:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13
Default Computer Freezes

My computer first went to BSOD and gave a usbport.sys error warning then IRQL_NOTLESS_OR_EQUAL, then i formatted my computer. and no it freezes what's the prob?

i have
winxp pro sp2
athlon xp 2600
lg dvd drive
liteon cd drive
80 gig drive

plz help
__________________

eassam is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 04:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

sounds like an IRQ conflict between the USB & some other device. Have you recently added any new devices to the computer?
__________________

Samm is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 05:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13
Default

the only usb devices i got attached to my pc is a usb adsl modem, and a wireless microsoft keyboard and mouse. I also added a new heatsink and a extra cooling fan to my pc. Could it be the power unit causing the errors? its only 300w generic power supply! I also tried swapping the ram in different slots! Occasionally it will also give the IRQ_NOT_EQUAL_OR_LESS blue screen of death! i am just sick and tired of trying different things! i sometimes also feellike just chucking the pc away! BTw i got xp pro with sp2. Sometimes it gives me the BSOD saying something like usb.sys(same like previous screen) Can anyone please help me!
oh! also tried flashing my bios and i did it successfully! is there any way to get the original bios back? i think the bios maybe conflicting as well!
eassam is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 11:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Go da BIOS end and set a cutom irq for each device
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 09:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Go da BIOS end and set a cutom irq for each device
how do i do that? i know how to go to the bios, but how can i set a custom irq for each device? i mean what irq numbers should i assign each devices?
eassam is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.