Computer Failure - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-28-2006, 08:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default Computer Failure

I'm not so happy currently.

It seems that after 13 hours my Hard drive becomes unreadable by operating systems. This could be a hardware or software problem

I have reformated My copy of XP 2 times today only to find that after I turn the PC back on I get a classic "DISK BOOT FAILURE PLEASE INSERT SYSTEM DISK. PRESS ANY KEY TO RESTART".

Could be a hardware problem as this happens very often and it just isn't windows thats affected my Linux partitons on my other harddrives are shot as well. I recently moved the PC down a flight of stairs did I destroy it? (scramble the HD heads?)

Could be a PSU problem I recently added a front fan to the case, I used a splitter and the cord now provides power to the HD and the fan instead of just the HD. Is it possible that my PSU cannot power my system?

Could I just be unlucky and have both Windows and Linux fail at the same time when I turn off the PC to never be seen again?

I've been exploring many relms of possibility and am still testing if you think it's something else please tell me.


This is a repeat thread in the windows forum and the hardware forum as it could be one or the other that is causing these issues.
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 08:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

http://www.answersthatwork.com/Downr..._bootdisks.htm


try this, make a bootable floppy and boot from it. I did this to a W2k system this week and it work.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 09:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Probably would work but I don't want to boot off of a floppy every time I turn on this PC...
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 09:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

give it a try, save your stuff
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 09:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Sure thing at the most it's a temperary fix thanks this should work till I can find the problem.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 10:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

let me know if it does.....
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 02:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 48
Default

Tyler1989 - When I have a problem that requires formatting, I go the long way: I go to the "A prompt", and enter "format c:" (no quotes). If I get the msg "doesn't support format", I go to fdisk, and delete the partitions. This usually lets me do "format c:". This way I know that Windows XP formatting from the install disc doesn't miss something. I can then install XP (after letting the disc format again) and have not had any trouble, until the next time I delete something I shouldn't.
figero is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 02:37 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default

It seems that after 13 hours my Hard drive becomes unreadable by operating systems

HOW CAN THAT BE SINCE YOUR OPERATING SYSTEM IS ON THE HARD DRIVE
__________________

derrmc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.