Computer does not boot anymore!!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-30-2006, 04:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 22
Default Computer does not boot anymore!!!!

Well this is actually my friends problem but wat happened was that he left computer on last night and came back in the morning and it was frozen. So he restarted it and nothing appears on the screen! He reset the bio too and it was still the same result. He checked all the connection but nothing really changed anything. When you turn on the power, the psu does run. It just doesn't show anything on the screen.
any suggestions????

WE did check the connection!
__________________

rhonjo is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 05:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

well did you switch monitors?
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 05:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

So the PSU run but do you hear the machine beep as though it ran the pre-boot BIOS POST? Other than that the only thing i can think of is a corrupt Video driver or virus.

If it is a video driver and you dont use a video card go back to onboard video and see if that works. If it is on board try a video card.

If its a virus you can try to run a virus scan but not many apps offer a self boot scanner as far as i know.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 08:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

has he changed anything inside the pc? Added any hardware/software?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 11:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

unplug hdd and ram. disconnect battery and clear cmos. turn it back on. it will beep since no ram and hdd is connected. do it one more time and turn it off. hook hdd and ram back up. turn it back on
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.