Computer Diagnosis Program - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-25-2004, 11:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 19
Default Computer Diagnosis Program

My new computer just isnt stable at all. Every few minutes it freezes in win xp and sometimes it doesnt even boot up to xp before freezing. Is there any programs out there that can find whats wrong and causing all these freezes? I tried Mem test 86 but it wont boot up and i cant figure that program out. Any help will be greatly appreiciated!

BTW my specs are AMD 64 3500+, 1 gig of crucial 3200 ram, 250 gig maxtor hd, msi k8NEO2 platinum, BFG 6800GT, sony dru-540a.
__________________

Completenoob is offline  
Old 12-25-2004, 11:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 447
Send a message via AIM to Pavlyk
Default

Well you might want to run tests for virii, spyware and adware.
__________________

Pavlyk is offline  
Old 12-25-2004, 12:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 19
Default

The computers brand new, not even hooked up to the internet yet.
Completenoob is offline  
Old 12-25-2004, 01:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 264
Send a message via AIM to Rizinc4
Default

I'm thinking that you either have heat issues, poor power distribution, or you have a hardware resource conflict.

Check your System/CPU temps, try a new PSU, update your BIOS... Also, go into your Device Manager, and come back with what devices are using what IRQ number.
Rizinc4 is offline  
Old 12-25-2004, 08:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 19
Default

I'm pretty sure the temp is around 40-41c. For the power i made sure each device has either its own cable, or uses the first plug in the series. I'll try out that IRQ thing and post it here in a few.
Completenoob is offline  
Old 12-25-2004, 10:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I have the same problem with my sorry ask Msi mobo. my solution is get thinner ide cable, I moved my dvd burner and my dvd rom up to the top 2 slots. I added an extra fan and I made sure my chipset weren't cover by mi pci cards. it worked fine after that
EricB is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 01:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 19
Default

All my IRQ setting are on AUTO. I dont even know what IRQ is, it says stuff about pci, but i dont have anything taking up any pci slots.
__________________

Completenoob is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.