Computer being lagged... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2006, 10:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 175
Send a message via AIM to Silent_Joka
Default Computer being lagged...

I connect to the internet via 56k modem, I usually connect between 46555 bytes and 50666bytes (46KB - 50KB) When I connect to Yahoo! Voice Chat, everything keeps skipping. It never done this before when I was using AOL, but now I am using NetZero. I have done all my AV scans Spyware scans AdWare scans, I have also deleted all my cookies and temporary files via CleanUp! 4.0. What can I do to fix this? If anything?

Silent_Joka is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 10:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
kfc469's Avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469

what do you mean by "skipping" I dont understand your problem

kfc469 is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 10:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 175
Send a message via AIM to Silent_Joka

Well, that wasn't a very good description. Ok, when I connect to Yahoo! Voice Chat, I can hear people talking then it pause and the start talking again, it occasionally collects all incoming sounds and plays them really fast. Like some one is playing a record faster than what it should be playing. I know people are talking when it pauses because the room always has people talking in it...
Silent_Joka is offline  
Old 05-09-2006, 06:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
KSoD's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647

Dial up is choppy at best. You are connected to the internet at the slowest speds possible. So if you are actively browsing the internet and trying to talk to people it will skip. Dial up cant handle that kind fo activity. It only has 1 path for information to travel. The 1 line is split. It has chunks of data on it. The first chunk is incoming Data. The 2nd chunk is outgoing. The 3rd incoming. 4th outgoing. So on.

So what happens is that is skips parts and they just continues. Best bet. Either Call the people using hte phone since you use dial up anyways. Or dont surf at the same time.

Or you could talk to someone and convince them to get DSL or a cable line. Dial up is shoddy at best. It doesnt matter if it is AOL, NetZero, EarthLink or whoever. IT is slow and the technology is old. You cant inprove on something like Dialup. It has been the same since the begining of the internet.
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:06 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.