compress a movie? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-05-2004, 09:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to hayden
Default compress a movie?

hi , i'm trying to make a movie on my pc smaller, 1 part of the movie is 783 mb, damn limitation on cds!! 83 more mb and i'd be fine. anyway of doing this? thanks
__________________

hayden is offline  
Old 06-05-2004, 09:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 268
Default

Crop it is the obvious answer (top and tail....................ie TITLES).

Whats the format?

If its a VCD or SVCD it will fit anyway (810MB fits on a 700MB CD).

Re-encode it (or re-encode the audio at a lower bitrate).
__________________

roho is offline  
Old 06-05-2004, 10:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by roho
Crop it is the obvious answer (top and tail....................ie TITLES).

Whats the format?

If its a VCD or SVCD it will fit anyway (810MB fits on a 700MB CD).

Re-encode it (or re-encode the audio at a lower bitrate).
how do you figure that will fit? I didnt think you could overburn a cd that much
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 06-06-2004, 12:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 189
Send a message via ICQ to RoyalW Send a message via AIM to RoyalW Send a message via Yahoo to RoyalW
Default

If cropping is already done or not an option try getting an 800mb CD.
Ive never tried one but have heard theyre ok to use
__________________
Windows XP Pro 2002 (SP2)

Intel Northwood 2.4GHz
Compaq Evo D510 SFF
768MB DDR PC2100
NVIDIA TNT2 32MB
Intel 82801 (AC\'97)
C: 40GB (FAT32)
RoyalW is offline  
Old 06-06-2004, 02:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to hayden
Default

well..i finally figured it out. actually, all i did was use nero on it. the picture is pretty bad though. anyway to fix it? i played it on my pc and it came in pretty good. (the passion of the christ)
hayden is offline  
Old 06-06-2004, 07:26 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 268
Default

Dear ALL

Dont forget VCD's and SVCD's use MODE2 for cd burning, this allows less error correction on a CD which enables a standard CD to hold up to 810MB. Which is why nearly all downloaded vcd's and svcd's have file sizes above 700MB (but below 810mb).

The final CD is NOT overburnt at all.

YOU DO NOT NEED oversized CD's or a CD burner with overburning features when burning VCD's.

Just about all burning software will burn a MODE2 disk correctly (and if you use .cue files you will not even see what going on.....unless you learn to read them).
roho is offline  
Old 06-06-2004, 09:54 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 346
Send a message via Yahoo to rakesh_1024
Default

Yeah
__________________

__________________
www.tech-station.net

P4 1.6GHZ Willamette core 400MHZ FSB 256KB L2 cache
Intel 845WN Mobo
256mb SD-RAM
Nvidia Riva Tnt2 M64 G-card
40GB Seagate 5400rpm HDD
300Watt PSU
Intex Cabinet
15 LG Studioworks563N
Creative Inspire2400 2.1 speakers
16x DVD ROM
52x Samsung CD Burner
rakesh_1024 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.