Complete Reformat of a Computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-03-2006, 12:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Arrow Complete Reformat of a Computer

Let me make this as clear as possible. I'am helping my friend re-install a copy of home edition. She has the disk, she wants to completely reformat her computer and start it up as if it was brand new manufacture.

So far, she has rebooted the computer, and booted from the disc supplied with home edition. Where do we need to start?
__________________

__________________
"After it's all said and done, more will be said than done." -- Quote by Somebody

Steam @ objecterror
objecterror is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 12:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Select Install, It will then find a previously installed version of windows, and prompt you to repair it... You need to select esc at that point, It will then show you the partitions you have currently. You then need to delete the partitions and create a new one.

Since you are not familiar with this process, I suggest creating only 1.

Then once you have done that, select the option to install to this partition... Reformat w/ NTFS, then sit back.
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 01:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

http://www.windowsreinstall.com/inde...EPAIR%20GUIDES
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 01:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
http://www.windowsreinstall.com/inde...EPAIR%20GUIDES
thanks! lots of help there!
__________________
"After it's all said and done, more will be said than done." -- Quote by Somebody

Steam @ objecterror
objecterror is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 02:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Exclamation

hate to say this, but we got an error, I../i386/ASMS

"The request could not be performed because of an I/O Device Error. Fatal Error, one of the components that windows needs to continue setup could not be installed"
__________________
"After it's all said and done, more will be said than done." -- Quote by Somebody

Steam @ objecterror
objecterror is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 02:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

try just doing the installation again and if it happens a second time post back here.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 02:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jcortes
try just doing the installation again and if it happens a second time post back here.
Well, from what http://www.windowsreinstall.com/winx...exfullpage.htm
told me, this will be number 2. number one ended with a similar message because i didn't properly walk her through formatting the computer. Now, this is number two. with the same error. does the mouse need to be unpluged while running through steps 1 through 4?
__________________
"After it's all said and done, more will be said than done." -- Quote by Somebody

Steam @ objecterror
objecterror is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 03:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

no what i would suggest is taking out any aftermarket hardware such as network cards soundcards ect. untill you get into the windows interface. and be sure to just delete all partitions then create a new one, format it and install the os.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 04:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Default

alright, thank you forum for getting us up and running, my friend thanks you for the support!
__________________
"After it's all said and done, more will be said than done." -- Quote by Somebody

Steam @ objecterror
objecterror is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 04:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

no problem just here to help
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.