compatible??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-01-2003, 12:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 19
Default compatible???

hey all,

i just bought a new msi motherboard, a K7N2 Delta Series. i hooked up all my stuff, athalon xp 2600+, geforce4 ti4600 [nvidia-asylum] and my western digital 60 gig, and a generic 512mb ram. everything worked nice, i formatted and installed win2k. when i install my geforce drivers, it goes to reboot and after loading at the win2k screen it flashes a blue screen and then reboots. i go to the advanced startup options, and go with the vga mode and it boots up fine, i know because of this that it is my video card drivers, but what is the problem with that. are they outdated, not compatible with a mobo with an nvidia chipset? please answer i have gone without my computer for way too long and need it for school.

thanks so much
__________________

concept is offline  
Old 10-01-2003, 02:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 160
Send a message via AIM to Vile Send a message via Yahoo to Vile
Default

Are there any error messages during the blue screen?
The most common blue screen in Win 2K/XP I've seen is when it does a memory dump, but when this happens there is usually an error message given.
__________________

__________________
Administrator & Webmaster:
MegaGames | MegaGames Forum

http://www.mgforums.com/vsig.gif
Vile is offline  
Old 10-01-2003, 10:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 19
Default

yes there is a blue screen error message, but it flashes too quickly to read. i saw something about physical memory and then it reboots. i have watched this a million times trying to read what it says but i cant.

thanks for your reply
concept is offline  
Old 10-01-2003, 07:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 19
Default

hey guys,
thanks but i already fixed the problem.
it seemed like the drivers so i went into vga mode and unistalled them and loaded a newer set.

thanks anyways guys
concept is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.