comp. slows down to a almost compete standstill - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2004, 11:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 9
Unhappy comp. slows down to a almost compete standstill

My family computer is about 5 years old.
It worked fine for the things we used it for.
Untill my 2year old started playing with it.
It is so slow, and the longer it runs iddle the slower it gets.
It sound like the HD is constandly busy,and every thing is slow.
When it gets to bad I just restart it and it will be good enouch for 30 min.
My original restore cd is missing and using a friends disk
how do i restore??
even the simple programs are slow.
cd creator 6 don't work anymore,not even the drag to disk option.

thx Henk

ps using 98se
__________________

Dutch Duke is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 11:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

have u tried antivirus? u can get AVG antivirus from www.grisoft.com for free
download spysweeper from www.webroot.com to scan for spyware
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 12:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

What is the OS that you are using?
Also, check the running processes as if you see somthing that you don't recognise, try to kill it.
Inaris is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 12:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

he uses 98SE
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 01:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

if you can get to it, try a few of these. They have always been very good at fixing problems.
http://www.sysinternals.com/win9x/98utilities.shtml
Filemon, process explorer, regmon and autoruns would be good to check first. They should be able to find anything that would cause something aside from ad ware and spyware.

Good luck
Inaris is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 08:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Inaris
if you can get to it, try a few of these. They have always been very good at fixing problems.
http://www.sysinternals.com/win9x/98utilities.shtml
Filemon, process explorer, regmon and autoruns would be good to check first. They should be able to find anything that would cause something aside from ad ware and spyware.

Good luck
Would Nortonsys. do the trick?
Dutch Duke is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 09:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

Ad-aware SE would be better.
http://www.lavasoftusa.com/software/adaware/
there are several others, but this one seems to be the best for ad ware/spyware.
Inaris is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 12:39 AM   #8 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

after that, buy the 2 year old his/her own computer, LOL
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 08:10 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 9
Talking

Quote:
Originally posted by ohGrFreak
after that, buy the 2 year old his/her own computer, LOL
I've got a set of twins,and when they were about 2 1/2 years old
they knew how to connect to the net with dail up.
They are almost 5 now and have more comp. knowhow than many adults.
Dutch Duke is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 08:15 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

First try anti-virus software like the people above suggested. If that doesn't work, try doing a goold old fasioned defrag....if you've never done it or haven't done it for a while, you'll be surprised the difference it will make.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.